We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel if you are in St Kilda”
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges St Kilda
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay at this hotel if you are in St Kilda”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel combines style with substance. The reception staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly and the staff of the in-house restaurant were equally so. They provide parking at a fair price and the hotel is clean, comfortable and well-priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastVillageExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Hi EastVillageExplorer,

We think it's great to have a focus on style, but it's just as important to be comfortable, happy and content. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    241
    130
    42
    31
See reviews for
54
278
48
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

If I stay in St Kilda again, will definitely stay here. Paid for the Coffee Connoisseurs special, which was great value. For only $10 more than the standard room rate I got free parking, unlimited cappuccinos for 2 & 2 free coffee liqueur drinks. The location is great being surrounded by bars & restaurants & only a 5 min walk to St Kilda beach & the pier. The staff were all very friendly & helpful & letting us check in early was appreciated. The rooms were large & comfortable & the bed was great. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay

Room Tip: the Coffee Connoisseurs special is great value. We ended up having 7 free capucinos between us durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Hi there,

You two must have been buzzing all weekend with all that coffee! If you're a fan of chocolate too (who isn't?!) it's definitely worth trying the All About Chocolate package next time you stay with us. Unlimited hot chocolate, two chocolate martinis, welcome chocolates in your room – sooo good.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Fairly nice modern decor Hotel. Room we had was a tiny bit small but not too bad for size. No chairs to sit on and TV was mounted too high on the wall. The rest was very nice. It is very conveniently located on Fitzroy Street St Kilda which has tons of eateries/ Restaurants like Monroes and Mahjong etc.

Parking on site at the rear. Has some spa rooms and a small Restaurant and a snack bar.

Not good for long term stay - due to just living in one room and no chairs to sit on - but perfect for just a few nights or a weekend.

Room Tip: Pick the Spa room and enquire what size it is as space to move around is what is important for longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Hi Wolfgang H,

Hope you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're after loads of space and ultimate comfort, next time you come to stay you should try out the Sweet Urban Room. It has a lovely comfy chair for you to kick back and relax, plus enormous bathroom with a double spa, shower, large LCD TV and heaps of natural light. Perfect for long term stays, because you won't ever want to leave!

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We arrived a little bit early for the 2PM check-in. No problem, we killed a couple of hours down by the beach. We came back at 2PM only to find that our room was still not done. Pretty poor since they knew we were hanging around waiting. So we had to sit in the lobby for nearly half an hour while they cleaned the room. The brochure in the room said "free wireless internet", however, when I asked at reception they said I would have to pay for it???

We stayed in one of the "round rooms", it was a cool concept, but not done very well. Nice to have a decent size TV in the room though. The room was nice and quiet down the back of the hotel, but having to walk up the stairs because the elevator wasn't working was a pain in the.......

Good location at St Kilda, however, not somewhere I would stay again.

Room Tip: Down the back, away from the elevators, if you like a nice quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Hi CR111,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the St Kilda location and spent a couple of hours soaking in the sun and sea breeze at the beach. Sorry to hear you had to wait almost 30 minutes while your room was cleaned. We love to to keep our guests comfortable and happy, so next time if you want an earlier check in just give us a call on the morning and we'll do our best for you. We also apologise that you had an outdated brochure in your room and as a result will ensure the rooms are all checked for old materials. We still offer complimentary internet access in our foyer on one of our two Macbooks.

Our guests usually love the Round Rooms, so I wonder why you thought the concept wasn't done very well? It's actually quite hard to get a Round Room booking because they're so popular (especially with our regulars)! Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Good clean hotel in a good location.

Suffers a bit from a too much of style over substance, but overall happy stay.

For example, they have massive pillows that look great, BUT give you a crook neck in the morning, thats fine but the Hotel does not even have ANY normal pillows.

Other than that rooms are a bit small. I stayed for 5 days.

Breakfast in the Hotel Cafe was very good, mostly due to excellent staff, including the manager of the cafe part of it - great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kakadu087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Hi there,

We can't get enough of the breakfasts at Suger Café! Hope you got a chance to try lunch or dinner there too.

I'm sure our lovely staff enjoyed looking after you just as much as you enjoyed the service. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and hope to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Caitlin
Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.7 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
248 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
0.1 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Property: Rydges St Kilda
Address: 35-37 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#9 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barkly and Acland Streets around the corner, Rydges St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. All of our rooms feature premium amenities and ultra comfortable beds. For extra treats, consider our Deluxe King Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Spa Suite Room with your own double spa bath. For extra fun check out our popular Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch. Later in the day visit Mavis Brown's. Our creative, friendly and relaxed bar with an extensive range of local and international craft beers as well as scrumptious tapas and daily specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing