We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Angelica at the front desk was a beautiful and helpful assistant. We stayed there for 5 nights and our room was up graded on arrival. It was a fantastic room and close to everything.We love Melbourne and will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Lucia M

Thank you for staying at the Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda and for your lovely review! We are absolutely delighted to see that Angelica was so helpful and left a good impression of the hotel. It is also great to see that that we were able to offer you an upgrade on check in, something we try to offer our guests, when available. I will be sure to pass on this great feed back to her and the team. Thank you also for mentioning your fantastic room and our great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel again soon!

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,415 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

My last visit to Melbourne was in 1981 so I didnt know what to find when we got there.We were recommended the Cosmopolitan and the location was perfect.The hotel is about 100m from Luna Park,50m from the Cafe Strip and very close to the beach.The rooms are simple but new and very clean.There are no balconies for those that like to sit outside your room.There are tea & coffee facilities, newspapers, toiletries, in room safe, iron, hairdryer, DVD player, LCD TV, fridge and pretty much the comforts of home.There are also parking spots for your car in the hotel.The rooms were on average $165 a night.We had booked a year in advance only to find that the St Kilda festival was on and our street was closed to all traffic for the day(no problem).The festival is huge!!!!! and you wont be able to buy any take home alcohol that day due to the dry area in St Kilda.The hotel advertised that you could buy some from the front desk but when asked there was very little to choose from.Staff were great and very friendly.Breakfast was extra from the restaurant at $15 a head but with the cafe strip so close we didnt bother.There is a backpackers night club across the road but we heard no noise at all.There is also an airport service across the road too which costs $18 per person.Very handy even though the #96 tram takes you straight into the Southern Cross terminal for transfers to the airport which are the same price from there.
I couldnt rave about the hotel as it is much the same as most hotels but the location was brilliant.St Kilda is a great spot with lots to do and see.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear caddyandbellA

Thank you for staying at the Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to learn new ways we can improve our service and facilities.

It may interest you and the other readers that we do offer several different room types at the hotel, some of which some do have a balcony or terrace. I am sorry that you were not aware of this during your stay, and perhaps we could arrange you one of these room types next time.

We have a tasteful selection of boutique beers and some choice wines available however it is regrettable that our selection was not to your liking. Your comments have been taken on board as we are always looking at ways to improve our offering.

It is great to read that you took advantage of the local restaurants and cafes for breakfasts right on our doorstep. Perhaps next time, you might like to sample our in-house restaurant, La Kitchen Cafe. Offering a rustic continental breakfast 7 days with a cooked option on the weekends.

I am so glad you were able to experience the well renowned St Kilda Festival. This popular event sees over 400,000 people attending throughout the weekend, and is one of the major events in the year for the area with people traveling from across the country to join in the celebrations.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Have stayed here a few times for work. Rooms are good sized and in the heart of St. Kilda

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berndoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear berndoz

Thank you for your comments regarding the Cosmopolitan Hotel. It is great to see that the room was suitable to your needs. We offer a variety of room types from our cosy Cosmo Petite to our Grand 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments which can sleep from 2 - 4 people. Our different room catergories cater for corporates like yourself of families or holiday makers just looking for that comfortable place to relax and unwind! Thank you for mentioning Our location. It is a one of main selling points being right in the heart of St Kilda with easy access to Acland and Fitzroy Streets, Luna Park or the Palais theatre. It may be worth noting to our other readers that we offer complimentary parking to our guests and the hotel is right on the route for the 96 and 16 trams into the Melbourne CBD!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the hotel!

Warmest regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Absolutely loved our clean modern cosy little room. Central to everything. Friendly happy receptionist, free parking, faultless. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Anna7878

I am delighted that you were very happy with our petite rooms. The Cosmopolitan prides itself on offering a range of accommodation to suit all guests and their needs and budgets. I am glad you made use of our complimentary parking at the hotel for your convenience. Also to keep in mind, the hotel also offers complimentary internet to our guests as well!

I look forward to greeting you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

Warmest regards
Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Me and 3 friends got a good price for staying four nights at this place, and I wasn't expecting too much, which was good because the hotel probably barely met expectations.

On arrival, we were given our room keys at reception, walked to our room, opened the door to find a shocked looking man laying on the bed. OK - mix up on the hotels part, not a good start. This made me nervous as my friends and I are a part of a band and we were on tour, so some of our gear was being stored in our rooms. However, happy to report that nothing went missing.

On the upside, free parking on site, great location (close to shops, beach), clean and not uncomfortable.

On the downside, a bit noisy due to the location, bathroom is tiny and not very well equipped and the place looks a bit dated. It actually looks very much like a motor-inn which has been converted into a hotel, which I assume it probably is.

I would still recommend this place to my friends though, if they were driving especially. Close to public transport as well as the Palais theater and the ESPY.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage like we did, request a ground floor to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmyJamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear TimmyJamesB,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at the Cosmopolitan hotel. We are delighted that you were impressed with our centralised location. Like you mentioned the iconic Palais theatre and the Esplanade Hotel along with many other attractions are just around the corner from the hotel.

We are very sorry to hear about the room mix-up upon your checking in. We understand first impressions count and on this occasion we have let you and ourselves down. At the time, this did prompt a rethink and a refocus by our reception team on the task at hand. This has ensured that this sort of service mistake does not re- occur.

On a lighter note, it's great to hear you made use of all our amenities such as our complimentary parking and complimentary secure luggage storage room service.

We appreciate you recommending our hotel to others and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Cosmopolitan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
499 reviews
0.9 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
291 reviews
0.7 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
378 reviews
2.2 km away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: €76 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing