We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This motel was faulsly advertised with ocean views & air conditionioning was terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Geelong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Geelong
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Geelong
A TripAdvisor Member
“This motel was faulsly advertised with ocean views & air conditionioning was terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were on a visit from Bairnsdale. Found the Room to be of lesser quality than other Mercure motels we have stayed in. The rooms were stuffy and hot. We thought we were getting an ocean view as per advertisment and did not. The staff were slow with checkout making other collegues late for conference. The conference room was well air conditioned and the meals were of high standard

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGEELONG, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued 'Accorhotels.com' Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mercure Geelong, I am sorry on this occasion that you felt as through your ocean view was not to your liking

I was pleased to see that your experience with our conference centre was great.

If at any stage during your stay you find your stay is not indicative of your expectations, please do not hesitate to contact our Hotel Assistant Managers who are available 24 hours a day to assist you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Geelong

Kind regards

Benjamin Krieg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    560
    326
    107
    36
See reviews for
351
429
94
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I am an Accor member and stay in Geelong when visiting family have stayed at Mecure many times. We booked 4 nights from 24th Feb. First night air con not working.... 38 dg celcius out side. We spoke to staff...they rolled eyes and said, Complain to management, we did they assured us would be reset and OK tomorrow...next night nothing changed... room was smelly, probably from lack of air. We checked out...will Never stay at Mecure Geelong again..management are hiding behind their very polite staff... rates have gone up and standard has gone way down...Not recomended for a comfortable stay, we moved to the Sheraton for a small amount more

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGEELONG, General Manager at Mercure Geelong, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear 'Heather E'

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay, I was very pleased to see that you commented on the polite staff, particularly when they were dealing with what was a very difficult situation, however apologetic for the issues you encountered.

I can personally assure you that comment "Management' hide behind our staff is completely incorrect, and as well as personally responding to all guest complaints on Tripadvisor I also with the support of the hotels Management team always welcome any comments any guests have.

Unfortunately during the weekend you mentioned we had a isolated system failure with the cooling system, and with the temperatures reaching in excess of 40 degrees, although the system was reset it proved very difficult and took considerably more time that we anticipated to return the hotels temperature to normal

We are in the process of conducting a complete review of the air conditioning system, and am confident this weekend was an isolated occurrence, for which I sincerely apologise

I am always available to speak with you further should you have any queries, and can be contacted at the hotel directly

Kind regards

Benjamin Krieg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel has a reasonable price/quality ratio, we stayed one night while traveling to the 12 Apostles. The location is a bit average, but you are at 15 min walking distance from the water. There is a parking lot next to the hotel, the staff at the reception have been friendly but not very special, the rooms are quite comfortable and clean, and the restaurant is good. The service at the restaurant could have been a bit faster and more professional, but overall it was ok,and the food was ok. The breakfast is classical, nothing special. I would recommend the hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyVanHooveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 24 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
2.2 km away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 24 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 km away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#7 of 24 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Geelong

Property: Mercure Geelong
Address: Corner Gheringhap & Myers Streets, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 137 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR and Ebookers so you can book your Mercure Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing