We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to eat/drink out!”
Review of gpo

gpo
Ranked #22 of 261 Restaurants in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Great staff, atmosphere and overall experience. Dine here often, perfect for tapas, pizza and dessert. Recommend!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We came here for a Sunday night dinner. The restaurant was not full. We were seated quickly and the staff were really friendly. Our drinks came out quickly. We ordered our food and oysters for entree took around 30 minutes to come to us, and they were warm, likely from sitting under the heat lamps in the kitchen for too long. Who wants to eat warm oysters when they're supposed to be fresh? Our mains then took 1 hour and 10 minutes to come to our table. The waitress apologised after around 30 minutes that it was taking so long but then after just over an hour we decided that we couldn't wait any longer so we asked the waitress to find out how long it would be and that if it was going to be more than 5 more minutes we would be happy to just pay for our oysters and leave. She went to check with the kitchen and then our mains arrived, coincidently. The food was nice but not worth the wait. For a small bowl of paella and a pizza, you wouldn't think it should have taken them that long. I honestly have no issues with the food, drinks or customer service, but we waited so long and were not even offered a discount or free drink whilst we waited. Disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank travellingjacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We found the staff friendly and great service, meals all very tasty and cooked spot on, the ladies enjoyed the cocktail menu.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank royceo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Nice place for tappas and great range of cocktails! Have been many times and never disappointed. Some of the best cocktails in Bendigo

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank T8433SWmelissap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We visited GPO for coffee and dessert August 31, greeted at the door and served by a delightful and cheerful fellow named Bayden. From the moment we arrived he was very attentive and anticipated our every need. 10 out of 10 for service.

Downside was the lack of any hand soap in the (male) toilets. One would hope with this deficiency that they have separate and well stocked staff toilets. Music and ambience was very soothing and tranquil.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stay83656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed gpo also viewed

Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
Bendigo, Greater Bendigo
 

Been to gpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing