We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Launceston”
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This hotel looks as though it was recently refurbished and they have done a very good job. It is on a hill very close to the city and opposite a gorgeous park. The park also has a display of Japanese monkeys. We were lucky to have a room overlooking the park. The hotel was very clean and spacious. There is generous cark parking at the back. Staff are friendly. The hotel has its own restaurant and bar. It is a short walk to restaurants and there is a coles supermarket near by which is within a shopping complex.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybilla96, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Cathy Thank you for your positive review especially regarding our ongoing refurbishment and transition fully from Hotel Launceston to Mercure Launceston. Currently we are dual listed with Hotel Launceston independently operated separately to the Mercure due to the budget level of those rooms. From your comments I think you may have enjoyed one of the newly refurbished rooms in the Mercure brand. If so, would you be able to move your review onto the Mercure site to reflect your stay with that Hotel. The rooms overlooking the park are lovely especially the outlook. We are very proud of the progress we have made to date with our refurbishments. Our friendly team would love to welcome you back on your next stay in Launceston and ensure another enjoyable experience for you and/or your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Biff5911
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Things seem a little confused, possibly because of trying to be all things to all people. On the one hand this is hotel launceston, on the other it is a hotel mercure (the latter, we know very well indeed, as Europeans).
Arrival over a bank holiday can be stressful for hotels, but shouldn't have been for a Mercure. All of the polished professionalism seemed to be there, as indeed did the room, but key elements were missing: - no booking for our first night, even though they could see it had been made; - no obvious way to turn the light on in the room; - no instant coffee (albeit many nesespresso capsules) for the kettle in the room; - no Tasmanian wine in the bar; - no milk for coffee at the bar.
Mercure side is Mercure, elsewhere we got the feeling, wasn't and that simply doesn't feel right. The hotel is nearly there, and needs to decide where and how it wants to go. Could be a really interesting addition to the city if done properly.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BorehamCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybilla96, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are currently in a transition process from Hotel Launceston to Mercure with 41 of 66 rooms fully completed. These are the Mercure rooms. Hotel Launceston trades separately as these rooms are not to Mercure standard but are due for completion within two years. I apologise regarding the coffee issues and have noted your comments regarding the Tassie wines, milk and frontnof house errors. Menus and Wine list are currently changing so will ensure we have more Tassie wines on the new list. We would love to welcome you back on your next stay. We are a young locally owned family business undertaking this refurbishment. We are endeavouring to bring a fantastic hotel to the market and I believe once fully finished we can exceed expectations. Thanks again for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at hotel, these rooms are very dated compared to what I am used to but clean and tidy.
But the bed was good, great water pressure in shower, in town and full access to the Mecure for the restaurant and bar.
Bar can be a bit noisy.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rhondaw390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 April 2017

Thank you for the feedback rhondaw390. You did stay at the Hotel Launceston which is a separate business. All the rooms within the Hotel Launceston will be refurbished in the near future. We would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My room was serviceable, my associates not so good. Reception was devoid of personality, but the food service was pretty bad, couldn't get a full bottle of wine, only 2 glasses of pinot left, over cooked steak, sides were OK

Room Tip: Request the rooms in the front building.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wrighthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 April 2017

Thank you Wrighthome for your feedback. Since you did stay at the Hotel Launceston which is an independently run property separate from the Mercure Hotel. We have rectified your issues and would like to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0 km away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#19 of 30 in Launceston
62 reviews
1 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
987 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.5 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
533 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: €62 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Accorhotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Australia - Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing