We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Areca Boutique Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apartments At York Mansions(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Discovery Parks - Hadspen(Hadspen)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Alice's Cottages(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdeen Court Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellie's Place(Launceston)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
84
181
119
55
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
181
119
55
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity parktitanium barrenovated roomsteep drivewayshort stayreception staffbed was comfortablepleasant staycataract gorgebistrofootyminibarshampoofi
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Things seem a little confused, possibly because of trying to be all things to all people. On the one hand this is hotel launceston, on the other it is a hotel mercure (the latter, we know very well indeed, as Europeans).
Arrival over a bank holiday can be stressful for hotels, but shouldn't have been for a Mercure. All of the polished professionalism seemed to be there, as indeed did the room, but key elements were missing: - no booking for our first night, even though they could see it had been made; - no obvious way to turn the light on in the room; - no instant coffee (albeit many nesespresso capsules) for the kettle in the room; - no Tasmanian wine in the bar; - no milk for coffee at the bar.
Mercure side is Mercure, elsewhere we got the feeling, wasn't and that simply doesn't feel right. The hotel is nearly there, and needs to decide where and how it wants to go. Could be a really interesting addition to the city if done properly.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BorehamCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybilla96, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are currently in a transition process from Hotel Launceston to Mercure with 41 of 66 rooms fully completed. These are the Mercure rooms. Hotel Launceston trades separately as these rooms are not to Mercure standard but are due for completion within two years. I apologise regarding the coffee issues and have noted your comments regarding the Tassie wines, milk and frontnof house errors. Menus and Wine list are currently changing so will ensure we have more Tassie wines on the new list. We would love to welcome you back on your next stay. We are a young locally owned family business undertaking this refurbishment. We are endeavouring to bring a fantastic hotel to the market and I believe once fully finished we can exceed expectations. Thanks again for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at hotel, these rooms are very dated compared to what I am used to but clean and tidy.
But the bed was good, great water pressure in shower, in town and full access to the Mecure for the restaurant and bar.
Bar can be a bit noisy.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rhondaw390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 April 2017

Thank you for the feedback rhondaw390. You did stay at the Hotel Launceston which is a separate business. All the rooms within the Hotel Launceston will be refurbished in the near future. We would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My room was serviceable, my associates not so good. Reception was devoid of personality, but the food service was pretty bad, couldn't get a full bottle of wine, only 2 glasses of pinot left, over cooked steak, sides were OK

Room Tip: Request the rooms in the front building.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wrighthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 April 2017

Thank you Wrighthome for your feedback. Since you did stay at the Hotel Launceston which is an independently run property separate from the Mercure Hotel. We have rectified your issues and would like to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Don't be fooled into thinking they are one in the same hotel! I was booked into Mercure last week, which was a refurbed room, new bathroom and above average. This week I was booked into thenold part of hotel launceston. The room is barely average. The shower is outdated and foul, the noise from the road is horrendous! Luckily the food is from the same restaurant. Not happy won't be rebooking possibly at either ever again. Bad for your brand Mercure!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2017

Thank you for the feedback Deb. We do apologize for the issues that you did experience. Since the Hotel location is near the CBD / main road some noise is inevitable. We would like to welcome you back in the near future so you can enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews