We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
53
73
36
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
73
36
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews female dorm sleeping bag coles supermarket bed room shared kitchen clean tidy great place to stay quiet at night free wifi overland track city centre living area hostel tasmania closet aud ventilation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Nicely located at walking distance from Launceston's city center. Spacious dorms and handy common areas. Just perhaps missing the «backpacker spirit» as they welcome all sorts of guests. But overall would definitely recommend it for a night or two.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Vincent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hello Vincent J, thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. Yes it is a very spacious hostel. Hopefully we welcome all "sorts of guests". All the best with your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I've stayed here a number of times and, apart from the usual creaky bed frames, hit and miss wifi, so so showers, it has a large kitchen, nice living area, free parking (outside of the paid parking zone), good matresses and very helpful friendly staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_Chameleon_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Chameleon, thank you for your review. Yes we did have a few glitches with our WiFi system but it has all been sorted now. Thank you for pointing out the positive aspects of the hostel which you liked. Safe traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

First, they offer internet but this one is very limited and usually is not working. Second, the heater is limited too.., in winter! The hostel is always cold and you can not control the heating system, and when is working is not good! In addition, some people is living there, and you feel in other people's house. It is very sad because the hostel is quite nice and the private rooms are comfortable enough :(

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Josefa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you Josefa for your review, yes we have had trouble with our internet for the last 4 days as we could not print off the internet vouchers. It was fixed this morning. The heaters are turned on in the living areas at 4 to 5pm and the bedroom heaters are on from 7pm till 7am. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Good value for our stay of 2 nights. We booked private rooms for each of the 2 couples. Large and well equipped kitchen, and a large space to eat. Parking inside property or on the street. Heater available on ceiling.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Late check in after 9pm and the reception has closed but Duty manager taped room key and passcode in an envelope at the main door with my name. There's an emergency number to contact a manager after office hours if need be. The place is a little hard to find in the dark. I was driving in circles even with google map.... and actually missed the dark signage to this hostel by the road. It is very quiet at night located beside a small little park. Plenty of parking along the road.
Once inside the hostel, I was searching for my room number and most rooms are hidden after a little door through the living room area and the kitchen.... there was a night manager who upkeep the place very well after most guests went to sleep. Bed and room was ok and warm.... nothing much to complain. The neighbour is quite convenient with restaurants and supermarkets within short walking distances.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wyatt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your review, a guest said recently that they had difficulty with Google maps. They said they ended up on the opposite side of the park. The door you mentioned where you have to go through to the bedrooms is there to stop any communal noise filtering through to the sleeping areas. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews