We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
53
73
36
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
73
36
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews female dorm sleeping bag coles supermarket bed room shared kitchen clean tidy great place to stay quiet at night free wifi overland track city centre living area hostel tasmania closet aud ventilation
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

First, they offer internet but this one is very limited and usually is not working. Second, the heater is limited too.., in winter! The hostel is always cold and you can not control the heating system, and when is working is not good! In addition, some people is living there, and you feel in other people's house. It is very sad because the hostel is quite nice and the private rooms are comfortable enough :(

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Josefa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you Josefa for your review, yes we have had trouble with our internet for the last 4 days as we could not print off the internet vouchers. It was fixed this morning. The heaters are turned on in the living areas at 4 to 5pm and the bedroom heaters are on from 7pm till 7am. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Good value for our stay of 2 nights. We booked private rooms for each of the 2 couples. Large and well equipped kitchen, and a large space to eat. Parking inside property or on the street. Heater available on ceiling.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Late check in after 9pm and the reception has closed but Duty manager taped room key and passcode in an envelope at the main door with my name. There's an emergency number to contact a manager after office hours if need be. The place is a little hard to find in the dark. I was driving in circles even with google map.... and actually missed the dark signage to this hostel by the road. It is very quiet at night located beside a small little park. Plenty of parking along the road.
Once inside the hostel, I was searching for my room number and most rooms are hidden after a little door through the living room area and the kitchen.... there was a night manager who upkeep the place very well after most guests went to sleep. Bed and room was ok and warm.... nothing much to complain. The neighbour is quite convenient with restaurants and supermarkets within short walking distances.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wyatt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your review, a guest said recently that they had difficulty with Google maps. They said they ended up on the opposite side of the park. The door you mentioned where you have to go through to the bedrooms is there to stop any communal noise filtering through to the sleeping areas. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and it was ok. The room was nice & warm with the heater on all night which we were so grateful for as it was freezing outside! The communal room was nice to chill out in & use the free wifi. The kitchen needs some more equipment, I cooked rice and had nothing to strain it in which was a little frustrating. The only other minus was the bathrooms being super cold - it's winter it's minus degrees & the windows were open so getting out of a warm shower was horrible! But all in all was an ok stay- beds comfy.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BeckySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hello BeckyS, thank you for your review. I will make a note of your comment and make sure there are some new strainers in the kitchen. We are also replacing some of our old beds at the moment so it is good to know our beds are still comfy. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Appalled and Can't believe in this day of technology and travel that this place Charges for wifi and Linen, which You, the Guest, have to Wash, plunging More Money into their washer + dryer Machines !
Renting Linen Is An Abysmal Trade Practice for an establishment offering accommodation
and I Certainly Wont Be Doing Their Laundry ! Heating Is On Their Terms And No Consideration Is Given TO Guest Comfort. I will stick to Hobart, which is not In The Middle Ages !
It's Not About The $ - It's The Ripoff Attitude Towards The Patrons Who Keep The Business Afloat. Ripoff Linen Ripoff WiFi Ripoff Heating - No Comfort Seating Outdoors. Yes, You Can Rent A ROom, But
I Only Recommend A Short Stay Or
You'll Run Out Of Money !
No Free WiFi Cafes Nearby
But ....... I Love Tasmania !
ANd The Friendly People There
Are Warm And Helpful.
Never trust any drivers - they are the worst
just look at all the damaged cars on the roads !

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Shirlee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hello, the heaters at Launceston Backpackers are on timers, at this time of the year if they are on all night the rooms become too warm. We have regularly asked our guests if their rooms have been warm enough and they have been saying that the rooms have been nice and warm. The seasons are starting to change so we will look at putting the heaters on all throughout the night. When you say your room was cold I do wonder if you even turned the heater on as there is an on and off switch beside the heaters. I haven't seen a backpackers yet that does not charge for washing and drying machines. In our last staff meeting we have been talking about putting the prices up a bit to match the prices of all the other Backpackers in Tasmania and then we will then be able to give out free linen and WiFi. Thank you for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews