We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venison was fantastic...”

Brisbane Street Bistro
Ranked #5 of 344 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Phone No +61 (03) 6333 0888
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The decor is nice enough and the staff were unobtrusive and helpful.
The oysters were good - a choice of natural, kilpatrick and vietnamese.
The venison was beautifully cooked and the recommended pinot matched perfectly. I was told that the lamb was so tender it was like cutting butter and it was also a perfect medium rare like the venison.
Overall a very pleasant meal.

Thank TraceyLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFidler, Owner at Brisbane Street Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Located in an original house that has been brought bang up to date. Menu reads like poetic homage to the taste of everything nearest, matched with regional wines and looks to change regularly with one of the most creative tasting menus we have read anywhere.
One of our best meals in Tasmania. A very talented team.

Thank BorehamCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFidler, Owner at Brisbane Street Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent restaurant. Both our entrees and mains dishes were superb. The service was top notch. Highly recommended.

Thank KlanKusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFidler, Owner at Brisbane Street Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Great French cooking in a beautiful old house. I had lamb shoulder that was excellent. Wonderful ambiance and would be great for a romantic dinner.

Thank PaulLinda832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The Brisbane Street Bistro continues to be our favourite Launceston restaurant for a special occasion meal. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, the seating comfortable, the music at a 'just right' level and the service friendly and professional. The wine list is very good with a fine selection of Tasmanian wines. And the food . . . . superb! Our most recent visit was memorable indeed. The tomato tart is legendary & our mains (duck and fish) were utterly delicious. A big thank you to Terry Fidler & his staff.

Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brisbane Street Bistro also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Brisbane Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing