We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best venue for fresh oysters”
Review of The Oyster Bar

The Oyster Bar
Ranked #9 of 175 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We visit the Oyster Bar regularly and have never been disappointed. Even when the place is packed service is prompt. The turnover ensures that their oysters are always fresh. If you like them natural, try the 'Oliver'; if cooked the 'Darleyfella' is the go. The 'Kilpatrick' tends to be a bit too heavy on the sauce.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CTMCtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P, General Manager at The Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you for your review on our venue. we strive for excellent service at all times, no matter how busy we are.

You have very similar tastes to mine, I absolutely love the Oliver oysters!

next time you are in ask us to put a little less sauce on the Kilpatrick and see how you go!

thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Our friends who are big oyster eaters were looking forward to Glenelg Oyster Bar as they are big fans of oysters and so are we. A reservation was made at 18:45 and we were there on the dot. Here is where it starts;
No table was set up or ready.
No table service which is very bad poor for a place like this.
Plates were just dumped in one corner of our table.
Table water didn't taste like it was filtered.
Oysters were served with cheapest store bought bread which was awful.
Some staff members were just sloppy.
It's not that hard to have great staff & table service. What are you thinking when serving cheap store bought bread with oysters - there are many places who make great bread.
A filter tap for table water is also a cheap investment for a restaurant.
When it come to the Oysters the were very good but would like to see some larger ones as well on the menu. We also had some Fish & Chips and both were doughy, sloppy and very poorly presented. For a restaurant at Glenelg Marina this is definitely not good enough. Our overseas visitors also though not having table service was very poor but enjoyed the oysters but however small in size they said.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MagnusAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P, General Manager at The Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thank you for your review on our venue! it is great to hear that you enjoyed our oysters.

A common mistake that is made by patrons that come to our Bars is that they expect table/restaurant service as we are in such nice locations. We are however a bar which is stated in our name/licence and we are not designed for table service. If you come to us during busy periods on Wednesday evenings (discount day), Friday nights, Sunday arvos you would understand that if we tried to do table service it would be absolutely detrimental to our business/service and just would not work.

Our bread, may look store brought but is actually made fresh daily from a local bakery. We choose to deliver bread on our oyster plates as we strangely enough get asked for bread with oysters very frequently so to us is a no brainer.

In regards to the filtered water, I can 100% guarantee that it is filtered water. I, myself am very fussy about the water I drink and I drink our filtered water all day everyday, along with all of my staff.

I would love to hear back from you in regards to your experience with us and explain further. You can email me at simon@oysterbar.com.au

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We revisited The Oyster Bar and as the manager promised us we got extra green olives and we had another cheese instead of the blue cheese. The service was really warm and inviting.A perfect lunch. Relaxing and calming. Cannot wait to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Visited on a Wednesday night….. beautiful weather and sat outside. Service was great. The food amazing. Oysters specials on Wednesday were great value. We had a dozen oysters each and they were excellent. There were 4 of us for our main meal we had squid, which was really tender, a tasting plate, salad and chips. All excellent. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie23294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Variety big fresh always busy great service
Wed and Friday special nights great

What else can I say great

Thank cbranson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oyster Bar also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing