We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel - staff very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage Hotel Wollongong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great hotel - staff very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Spent a couple of nights at the Chifley. Great hotel in Wollongong with very frendly staff. Check in was nice and easy, rooms very new and clean. Had breakfast in the restaurant on both mornings. The food was very well presented with good service. Hotel is located right on the beach and has easy access, also close to shops and WIN Satdium. Great hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: High floor will have views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and more specifically felt that the staff were friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Chifley Wollongong in the future.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    489
    203
    78
    47
See reviews for
223
520
42
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Husband and I just spent a night at the chifley wollongong. We got a good deal and thought we would have a night away. Check in was easy and smooth. I thought we had booked a queen bed but there two singles in the room, it wasnt really a bother, we just pushed the beds together. We were on the 7th floor in an executive balcony room. The room was spacious and very clean. Its within easy walking distance of a couple of clubs and restaurants. The only weird thing with the room was that the power point for a mans shaver was on the other side of the room to the vanity. It was ok, he didnt bother to shave but I could imagine it might be a bother if you were staying a few nights and had to shave. The point for it was also located behind the door so you would have to shut the door to shave.

The absolute highlight of our stay was our breakfast. There was absolutely everything you could think of. Well presented and fresh. We walked out of there with full bellies.

The staff were a delight. If you were in a lift with a staff member they would smile and say hello. If we walked down the hall and a room was being cleaned the cleaner would make sure she said hello. The staff in the breakfast room were fantastic, we were called sir and mam and they were continually watching to take away your finished plate or to refill your cup with coffee or tea. It seemed that someone was always scouring the room to see if anyone wanted anything. Just fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Jodybelinda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay.

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast in C Grill and that the team were able to add to a great experience. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team members.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and should you return to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Nice hotel. A bit generic and bland from a design perspective, but spacey, clean, polite & in a good spot. Will be better when you can get to the beach a bit more easily but highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmainite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We spent 3 nights in Wollongong and were delighted from the first instance when checking in to the Chifley. Our room was on the 10th floor and the balcony was facing the coast. Bed was very comfortable.Room was spacious, with a deep full size bath.Staff were very friendly. The only negative was the lifts. They were very slow but it gave you a chance to strike up a conversation with others while you waited.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Raffos77,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Most importantly, I delighted to read that our team were friendly and able to assist you with your requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chifley Wollongong in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Hill, Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just spent a super relaxing week at the hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary. (We had been lucky enough to be given a fantastic deal which included an Executive King balcony room providing terrific city and ocean views!!) We had not been back since June 2011 but it did not disappoint in any way.
The hotel is in a great location providing a 3 minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the CBD. Plenty of secure parking available. All the staff were very friendly and provided great service. Our large room was bright, modern with a super comfy king bed, large flat screen TV. The bathroom was spacious with large shower & bath. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts which we could not fault in C Grill which is bright and spacious. The food was delicious and beautifully presented with lots of little special touches, ie.different flavour fresh smoothie each day plus a large juicer with varied fruits and veg available to blend own juice. A lovely selection of fresh fruits and berries. Chunk honey full of honeycomb plus jams and chutneys. Special mention must go to Sean who was super friendly and efficient!! We enjoyed relaxing by the pool on several occasions.Plenty of fresh towels and several sun lounges plus gym available. All in all a lovely stay!! THANKYOU to all!! We highly recommend and can't wait until our next stay, hopefully end of Feb for husband's birthday!!

Room Tip: Higher level floors are quieter with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wend0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear wend0100,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am extremely pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am most delighted to read that Sean was able to add to a great experience, trust I will personally pass on your comments to him directly.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and on behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Chifley Wollongong soon. Should you require any further assistance prior to your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.6 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
4.6 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.6 km away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Property: Sage Hotel Wollongong
Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing