We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, great ambience”

Seasons Cafe-Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 236 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Description: Located in the stunning grounds of Cassegrain Winery, Seasons Cafe-Restaurant features a French-inspired menu with a focus on seasonal and regional produce. Overlooking our beautiful estate, the restaurant boasts plenty of natural light and scenic views of our vineyard and rose garden. Enjoy a fusion of French classics and cafe favourites, each with thoughtful pairing suggestions by winemakers John & Alex Cassegrain. Serving morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea from 10AM to 4PM daily; or simply join us for a cheese plate or charcuterie board after a wine tasting in the Cassegrain Cellar Door. Dine alfresco in the sunshine on the patio, or stay warm inside by the fireplace during winter time. Escape the ordinary at Seasons with fabulous food and warm hospitality in an oasis of sweeping lawns, manicured hedges, over two thousand rose bushes and of course, our picturesque vines. Bookings recommended, walk-ins welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the stunning grounds of Cassegrain Winery, Seasons Cafe-Restaurant features a French-inspired menu with a focus on seasonal and regional produce. Overlooking our beautiful estate, the restaurant boasts plenty of natural light and scenic views of our vineyard and rose garden. Enjoy a fusion of French classics and cafe favourites, each with thoughtful pairing suggestions by winemakers John & Alex Cassegrain. Serving morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea from 10AM to 4PM daily; or simply join us for a cheese plate or charcuterie board after a wine tasting in the Cassegrain Cellar Door. Dine alfresco in the sunshine on the patio, or stay warm inside by the fireplace during winter time. Escape the ordinary at Seasons with fabulous food and warm hospitality in an oasis of sweeping lawns, manicured hedges, over two thousand rose bushes and of course, our picturesque vines. Bookings recommended, walk-ins welcome!
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Season's has changed hands 3x in 5 years. The original French was excellent. The following bistro was woeful. The Cassegrain family has taken it back in house and returned to the French theme.
They are proud of their winery and restaurant and it shows. The menu changes seasonally with available local produce.
I've dined there 3 times recently: a function, degustation and lunch. I enjoyed all 3 meals. However the chicken served at the function was widely considered to be bland (guess I was lucky with a delicious steak!).
The degustation delivered a new taste sensation- hot chocolate laced with red wine. It was stunning.
Another good aspect is that wine is very reasonably priced- cellar door prices in the restaurant. Unheard of! They are very good wines too. So have a designated driver or arrange transport. This is the place to indulge.
Now for the best tip, join the Cassegrain wine club and get a free bottle of wine ever time you dine!

Thank I2925GRstepheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassegrainWines, Manager at Seasons Cafe-Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hello I2925GRstepheng
Thank you for taking the time to review Seasons Cafe Restaurant. We are very pleased you have visited us on many occasions and we look forward to this continuing.
We enjoy bringing new innovations and taste sensations to our guests and look forward to seeing you at Taste of Spring where a new offering will be showcased to accompany our new seasons menu and new release wines.
Kind regards
Carolyn
Restaurant and Functions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017

We heard this was a good vineyard restaurant for lunch and agree wholeheartedly. We had been wine-tasting at cassegrain cellars next door, and they assisted us to book a table. We were taken to the best available table with relaxing atmosphere and views and served attentively. Our drinks were brought quickly, and the meal was presented well and delicious. My sister enjoyed her rabbit dish, and I my ratatouille meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassegrainWines, Manager at Seasons Cafe-Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you Jean for your lovely review. We are glad you and your sister enjoyed your meals and our service, and hope to see you again soon. We appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Kind regards
Carolyn
Restaurant and Functions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I had high expectations, attending a great local winery close to town. As part of a 55 person party, in typical alternate drop style we had 5 different protein dishes. Unfortunately the steak was over cooked, the salmon very salty and the pork, miniscule serving. Vegetables were to share, there wasn't enough to go round the table, and the inclusion of roasted beetroot, although to my liking, wasn't to 75% of the rest of the group. The canapés on entry we well presented, and wait staff friendly and professional. On the flip side, they again were very salty and pastries, nicely home made, but very crumbly. Desserts were well presented. The local bubbles were pleasant, and inexpensive by the bottle. The wood fire, and the surrounds helped the disappointment of the meal. I will try again, this time as a small group individual diner...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Port librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassegrainWines, Manager at Seasons Cafe-Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Our sincere apologies Port librarian. Your feedback has been noted and discussed with our team. Thank you for your comments about our service and our sparkling wines, as the team at Seasons take pride in our food, beverage and wait service. We thank you for giving us another opportunity and hope to see you and your friends soon.
Kind regards
Carolyn
Restaurant and Functions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

My friends and I had a fabulous lunch here over the weekend. We all enjoyed our meals (meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes). We wine tasted while waiting for our dishes so we could choose some bottles to enjoy with our lunch.
It was a lovely atmosphere sitting by the fire on a rainy winters days.
The service was spot on and we can't wait to go back!

Thank Juanita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

On our way north or south passing Port Macquarie we nearly always stop at Cassegrain Wines to pick up a couple of dozen. This time it included a late-ish lunch at Seasons Cafe Restaurant. Glad we did. We didn't need anything too heavy as we still had a few hours of travelling to go. The meals were fresh and tasty, the wine (one glass each) was crisp and cold. The staff were a happy lot, and were happy to chat and explain the meal or the wine or even home kitchen renovation ideas. We had already purchased our wine stocks prior to sitting down for lunch, I'd suggest you may wish to grab a meal at Seasons and try some of the Cassegrain varieties then head down to the cellar door for the bulk purchases. My advice, whether you are heading up or down the coast, take a break from the road works and stop in for lunch.

Thank Mac T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seasons Cafe-Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Seasons Cafe-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing