We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value place to stay in Port Macquarie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value place to stay in Port Macquarie”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stay at this hotel about once every 2 months and have yet to be disappointed. The rooms are large and always clean. Breakfast is good and the staff are always very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
38
72
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I frequently visit Port Macquarie on business and always stay at this motel. The large rooms are always spotlessly clean and the beds are huge and extremely comfortable. Brett and his staff always make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that your stay is pleasant. The restaurant serves great meals without being overpriced. I would recommend this motel to anyone who is visiting this region.

Room Tip: All rooms have private balconies and there are also spa suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Although this motel is not overlooking the river or the sea, we would recommend staying here. Our room was very comfortable with our own private courtyard. All the staff were very friendly and informative and it was apparent that the owner is doing his best to run a great establishment without the advantages of ocean/river views.
The quality of the Governor's Restaurant was exceptional and well worth a visit for dinner. The only drawback was the lack of good wines to complement such a restaurant. We did mention this to the owner and he assures us that he is taking heed of any comments guests like to make about any aspect of the motel. Quite refreshing!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here in a Motel Room many years ago and was soo pleased with the friendly service and cleanliness that we decided we would book a room for our family on our recent holiday. Unfortunately, our stay was rather different this occasion. There was dog droppings on our outdoor terrace (I don't know how they got there, perhaps a dog wandered into the area which couldn't be helped but it wasn't nice for us). The cleanliness was nothing like our last stay with hair on the bathroom counter, stains on the toilet seat (which really needs replacing) and dirt still on the floor. My biggest concern was there was some mould on the bathroom tiles above the sink so I got my own cloth and wiped it and it came off so there was no excuse for it being there. The rooms were beautifully aired however, and there was still the same friendly service. Unfortunately, due to the change in the level of cleanliness, I cannot recommend to stay here, which is a shame as we were throughly delighted with this little Motel the first time we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank -AusAdvisor81-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstonville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

very comfortable clean room. a very warm welcome at reception. Very handy to all Port Macquarie has to offer. Reasonable tariff. Would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
2.3 km away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
898 reviews
2.3 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
839 reviews
3.0 km away
HW Boutique Hotel
HW Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
476 reviews
2.1 km away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
312 reviews
1.1 km away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn

Property: Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Address: 103 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing