We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Although this place may not be the most luxurious place to stay, it has many things going for it. Yes, the rooms are basic but when it is as hot as it was when we were there you don't really need much else. The bed was very comfortable, always a good thing. The family running the hotel are very pleasant and particularly helpful. What we really liked was the rural setting, with vineyards and woodland directly outside the rooms. Being on a working farm/vineyard was a big plus for us. it was well placed to go exploring the Hunter Valley and we couldn't really have asked for more. The best thing of all, though, was Shakey Tables restaurant, not to mention Shakey Tables wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there.

Room Tip: They all seem the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Was here about 20 years ago - and safe to say not much has changed. Still a beautiful setting - lovely helpful and chatty staff - amazing food at Shaky Tables - but rooms have also got a little shaky over that time and seriously in need of a refurb. Suffice to say accommodation is pretty basic and is really a venue that would suit groups who want to spend time together or people who want to spend an evening at Shakey tables and have accommodation to follow. That being so I believe ownership has just changed - so a refurb might be on the way which would bring this seriously up to scratch all round. Certainly worth a visit for the country style setting and Shakey Tables but rooms needs some serious updating.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SharonWall54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room one which was neat and tidy but in need of a refurb. Bed was hard but surprisingly comfy. Paid quite a bit for this room which is probably par for the course in the hunter when you only want one night, would have expected to have things like shower cap, body wash and more than one washer. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was a simple but satisfying buffet in the continental style.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Stayed here on a Wednesday and Thursday evening on the midweek B&B with dinner on the first night package.

Yes, it may have been the off season but it was still warm with bright skies (at least to us Brits).

Arrived late afternoon after our drive from Sydney airport but the reception was waiting for us and efficient in getting us checked in and booked for dinner - to reply to a previous review on here I'm not sure how much more information is required, the lodge rooms are laid out right in front of you. There are three buildings formed in a horse shoe, the two wings are comprised of 8 lodge rooms each and the centre section is the restaurant. If you want to eat on site then book a table, which is what we did.

With it being the off season there were only four or five tables occupied that night but the service and hosting was excellent.

The lodge rooms are pretty basic but adequate, wasn't here for the rooms as we wanted to be out and about as much as possible. The website states that there is a lot of wildlife about and that is certainly the case judging by the dawn orchestra each morning and the 7 or 8 kangaroos who visited the grounds on the Friday morning.

Quiet, secluded but with easy access to the Vineyards of Hunter Valley

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The property is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. Unfortunately the service and feel of the place really let the stay down. On arrival I was given a key and asked if I wanted to book a table that night, but that was the extent of the information given to me. The rooms are comfy and rustic and clean, and the stay itself was fine. however again at breakfast the next morning we asked to sit in the sun (in an empty restaurant) and was told no as those tables were set up for dinner that night, and the breakfast was really disappointing and limited, just told to help ourselves with no real assistance.. It would have been fantastic had the service been a little more attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208sj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
13.8 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
9.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
9.6 km away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.8 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
16.7 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant

Address: Cessnock-Branxton Rd | Rothbury, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Price Range: €60 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hunter Country Hotel Shakey Tables
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing