We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
19
23
13
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
23
13
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Was here about 20 years ago - and safe to say not much has changed. Still a beautiful setting - lovely helpful and chatty staff - amazing food at Shaky Tables - but rooms have also got a little shaky over that time and seriously in need of a refurb. Suffice to say accommodation is pretty basic and is really a venue that would suit groups who want to spend time together or people who want to spend an evening at Shakey tables and have accommodation to follow. That being so I believe ownership has just changed - so a refurb might be on the way which would bring this seriously up to scratch all round. Certainly worth a visit for the country style setting and Shakey Tables but rooms needs some serious updating.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SharonWall54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room one which was neat and tidy but in need of a refurb. Bed was hard but surprisingly comfy. Paid quite a bit for this room which is probably par for the course in the hunter when you only want one night, would have expected to have things like shower cap, body wash and more than one washer. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was a simple but satisfying buffet in the continental style.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Stayed here on a Wednesday and Thursday evening on the midweek B&B with dinner on the first night package.

Yes, it may have been the off season but it was still warm with bright skies (at least to us Brits).

Arrived late afternoon after our drive from Sydney airport but the reception was waiting for us and efficient in getting us checked in and booked for dinner - to reply to a previous review on here I'm not sure how much more information is required, the lodge rooms are laid out right in front of you. There are three buildings formed in a horse shoe, the two wings are comprised of 8 lodge rooms each and the centre section is the restaurant. If you want to eat on site then book a table, which is what we did.

With it being the off season there were only four or five tables occupied that night but the service and hosting was excellent.

The lodge rooms are pretty basic but adequate, wasn't here for the rooms as we wanted to be out and about as much as possible. The website states that there is a lot of wildlife about and that is certainly the case judging by the dawn orchestra each morning and the 7 or 8 kangaroos who visited the grounds on the Friday morning.

Quiet, secluded but with easy access to the Vineyards of Hunter Valley

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AHWBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The property is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. Unfortunately the service and feel of the place really let the stay down. On arrival I was given a key and asked if I wanted to book a table that night, but that was the extent of the information given to me. The rooms are comfy and rustic and clean, and the stay itself was fine. however again at breakfast the next morning we asked to sit in the sun (in an empty restaurant) and was told no as those tables were set up for dinner that night, and the breakfast was really disappointing and limited, just told to help ourselves with no real assistance.. It would have been fantastic had the service been a little more attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208sj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Bed felt too hard (subject to individual taste I guess), in winter the building and exposed timber floor is freezing cold so bring your ugg boots :). Fabulous hot shower and great bathroom. Super quiet air conditioner does a good job all night. We only stayed one night so no more experience to convey on that. The associated Shakey Tables restaurant is well run and offers very good environment, food and service.

Room Tip: Two banks of about 8 rooms all seem to be well located and well off the main road
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews