We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury weekend escape in the Hunter Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We chose Spicer's for our first wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The room was amazing - we stayed on the upper floor - and the attention to detail was perfect. A open fireplace pre-lit for when we came back to the room was a cosy touch. We had the romance package with candles and rose petals and other little niceties. Loved Botanica restaurant for dining and breakfast, so much so we dined both nights in lieu of traveling to any other local restaurants. Chef Mark freshly picks ingredients from his vege garden daily. You could taste the freshness in every meal. Belinda and her team were fantastic and very attentive at the guesthouse.. 10/10 for the experience, we will definitely be back next time we visit the Hunter.

Room Tip: We chose the upper floor - there are only 8 rooms to the guest house - and this was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kass_creative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 820 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

We visit the Hunter 3 to 4 times a year and The Spicer's Vineyard Estate is one of our favourites. It's set in a lovely vineyard and outstanding restaurant on the grounds (which we visit when not staying here). On entry to the room you are greeted with soft gentle music. The room was well appointed and tastefully decorated, with lots of extras, we also loved having our breakfast delivered to the room in the morning!
Our favourite feature in the winter is the open fire place in the room. In our eyes there is only one thing that let this place down and that would be the bathroom a bit out dated and did not really live up to the outstanding decor of the room. However it was not a deal breaker. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzzySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at Spicer's vineyard for two nights for a mid week break - from the moment we arrived it was perfect. We were greeted by Belinda and shown to our room which was large, cozy, and beautiful. The attention to detail was truly amazing - soft music, soft lighting, a handwritten welcome note, the beautiful open fireplace all ready for us to light. The complimentary mini bar was a treat, what a lovely idea. The spa was huge and luxurious. It was a bit too cold for a dip in the pool, but we enjoyed a fun game of mini golf, the surroundings are lovely and peaceful. Dinner at Botanica (included in our two night package) was just lovely, the dining room was buzzing and cozy, the staff friendly and helpful, the food, delicious. The Parisian style breakfast overlooking the vineyard is a great way to start the day. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, it felt like we were the only people there. When it was time to leave we were presented with homemade biscotti as a farewell gift. A very romantic place for a getaway, if you want peace and quiet and some luxury, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Spicer's Vineyard Estate is a wonderful surprise in the Hunter Valley. It is set in a lovely vineyard with breathtaking sunsets. The room is amazing with soft gentle music greeting us. It set the mood and we were immediately relaxing. The spacious room is well appointed and tastfully decorated, with some extra touches which made us feel special. After settling in we enjoyed our complimentary bubbles and then had dinner at the onsite Retaurant Botanica. A gem! We enjoyed a gorgeous meal. The staff were very pleasant and attentive but allowed us to savour our experience. Thanks Belinda and Rhee. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NumberEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Spicers on the back of the many good reviews from Trip Advisor. My partner was pleasantly surprised by all facets of the accommodation and commented that it was the best place we have ever stayed.

From the first follow up call post making the booking through to checking in, the staff were helpful and obliging and wanting to make the experience as memorable as possible. The amenities were great and with only 8 suites, the whole place was very quiet and tranquil and we felt like we had it almost to ourselves.

Everything is high quality from room decor to a stocked mini bar, open fire and large spa. The breakfast is also a great way to start the day.

If rest and relaxation is your thing, this estate is for you.

Definitely recommended for a weekend stay with all the wineries at your doorstep.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Timbo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
13.1 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
12.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7.1 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
10.7 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
7.1 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: €292 - €399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing