We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed ”
Review of The Monkey Bar

The Monkey Bar
Ranked #26 of 148 Restaurants in Dubbo
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Australian
Description: The BEST burgers and chicken in town! Or grab a cheese platter or dessert to share with friends. With 10 constantly rotating craft beer taps and the most unique cocktail menu you'll find West of Sydney, you'll be hard pressed to find a better venue in Dubbo to relax for dinner and drinks with friends than The Monkey Bar. Create your own atmosphere with our CrowdDJ system, allowing you to choose any music you like from our Spotify lists or load your own list in and play your favourites!
Restaurant details
Description: The BEST burgers and chicken in town! Or grab a cheese platter or dessert to share with friends. With 10 constantly rotating craft beer taps and the most unique cocktail menu you'll find West of Sydney, you'll be hard pressed to find a better venue in Dubbo to relax for dinner and drinks with friends than The Monkey Bar. Create your own atmosphere with our CrowdDJ system, allowing you to choose any music you like from our Spotify lists or load your own list in and play your favourites!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were in Dubbo over the long weekend and came across the monkey bar. The place is nice not that big on the inside but have a wide selection of drinks and American style food. Complementary popcorns a nice touch and Burgers are really good , unfortunately the wings we got were over cooked the crumb pretty much just fell of the chicken all over the table and it lacked salt . The other grip I had was They make a really good cocktail but only after happy hour , there is a huge noticeable difference in what you get before and after . My drinks were watered down in large glasses during happy hour with some of the garnishes missing then when the clock strikes 6:30 they are all pretty, less ice and stronger. Sorry but I’d rather pay full price if it means a decent cocktail.

Thank Yags81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Food was great and bar service. But the place needs a good clean. Toilets very dirty You need to to give the place a really good clean up

Thank 340elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Great service, staff were so friendly, cleared our table regularly; enjoyed the atmosphere of light music that we could enjoy music and hear ourselves as well. Had the cheese platter and sweet potato fries for snacks which was really enjoyable and a good price as well, a bit slow in coming but they had quite a few tables to get through for main meals.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Monkey Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi Dianne,

Thanks for your review! Really glad to hear you enjoyed yourself on friday night. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This venue has changed hands since my last visit and now has a terrific variety of beers on tap that you normally wouldn't expect. Beer is cold, food is good - what more can one say?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveller2australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Monkey Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks so much for your review! glad you had a nice lunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Burgers are delicious, however time between first burger to last was 25 minutes( total of five burgers). Very long wait and entree came out after main meal. Good atmosphere, great drinks however food needs to be served quicker.

Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, Owner at The Monkey Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Hi James, thanks for your review. Sorry about the wait time on your burgers on Saturday night, the kitchen got hit all at once and we did our best :) really glad to hear they were delicious. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monkey Bar also viewed

Dubbo, New South Wales
 
 
Dubbo, New South Wales
 

Been to The Monkey Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing