We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”

Review of Emaroo Oxide

Front view of Emaroo Oxide
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Emaroo Oxide
Fully equipped kitchen Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front view of Emaroo Oxide
Fully equipped kitchen
Bathroom
Newly renovated lounge
Bedroom
Bedroom
Gateway to the Outback
Dining room
Echidna in the wild
Red Kangaroo
Mining the lode
Historical Pubs throughout Broken Hill
Such a contrast in colours
Plenty of room for the pets
BBQ Area
Decorative Batghroom
A touch of colour
Original aboriginal art work
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broken Hill, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marduk1
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed several nights in the cottage and found it excellent. First up, it was very welcoming with the heating on, lights on in both bedrooms and the nice welcoming gift of wine and chocolates. The cottage was spotlessly clean and amazingly well equipped - heating/cooling, wifi, barbecue, full laundry, plenty of DVDs, full bathroom with bath and separate shower. The shower itself was roomy and fitted with a rail shower - so much better and more practical than the rain showers common these days.
The location of the cottage is excellent - a comfortable stroll to the shops, cafes, etc in Argent Street. The covered, off-street parking is behind a roller shutter in an alley at the side of the house. It might be a bit inconvenient for a single person but getting in, getting out and locking up was a very simple operation for a couple.
Our favourite things to do in and around Broken Hill were the Pro Hart Gallery (low entry fee and fascinating), the Royal Flying Doctor Service tour at the airport (wonderful part of inland Australia's history and great souvenirs), Silverton (Gaol Museum, Hotel) about 26km northwest of Broken Hill and the Mundi Mundi Lookout a further 5km north. From the lookout, you begin to understand how vast Australia's outback is.
Finally, a word about the owner, Cathy. We phoned her a couple of times and found her to be a truly caring person who was solely focussed on her guest's comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sans68
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful well equiped little home”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This place was recommended to me by a workmate. I was in Broken Hill for a week.

This cottage had everything I needed to make my week comfortable and easy. The bed was comfy, the wfi good and the kitchen facilities excellent.

The only downside was that the aircon would only go on for 3 hours at a time - not a problem during the day but not that great at night.

I would stay there again without hesitation.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

the place was well cleaned and well furnished had everything we needed, we will definitely stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tassietra...
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage just not on a Saturday night”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely cottage, decorated beautifully and spotlessly clean. Everything you could possibly need. The two bedrooms are beautifully decorated but face the street. We stayed on a Saturday night and there were drunk people walking past all night, screaming and yelling abuse. This is not the owners fault, but it is intimidating, We felt slightly unsafe as the action was right outside our bedroom. There are no bedrooms at the back. This was the only negative. Other Emaroo cottages might not be as noisy on a Saturday night, they would be worth a stay as owners present them beautifully,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous presentation
Liked least: The noise from hotel patrons just outside the property, not just one but several going past all night!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen b
Pakenham, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A home of your own”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Easy booking with the owners. Great area just out of town. Close to all attractions. The home was beautifully presented very clean and tidy. Its so nice to come back from a day out to relax in home like your own. Everything you need great kitchen big bathroom lounge room and 2 bedrooms. The split air conditioning was very welcome with the hot weather we had whilst we were there. The only small problem we had was parking the car either parking down the lane and having to walk inside the house to unlock the roller door or walking back to the front of the house and thru the side gate and unlock the roller door. To park under the carport. There is a double garage adjoining the house which the owners are using it would have been much easier to have used that instead. Overall was just beautiful and would certainly stay here again when in broken hill

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its a home of your own all to yourself
Liked least: The car parking having to go inside to unlock the roller door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing