We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
12
41
29
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
41
29
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews t bone an overnight stay queen room flat screen family room staff were friendly bistro melbourne freeway
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Worst budget accommodation I’ve been in: paint peeling off the walls; shower rose spraying water everywhere and for so long that the roof was badly water damaged; holes in the walls; offered a car space when we booked but it’s actually “first in first served”; vanity water damaged and particle board rotting. Obviously no regular maintenance for years.
Add insult to injury, there’s a notice in the room to say if you’re not happy with room, they’ll upgrade for an additional cost.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anntweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

We were in town for a funeral and had family spread across town. This was central and became our meeting place. Food was good value and tasty. Staff were friendly. Yes, the venue is a bit dated but it had everything we needed. I'll definitely be back

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Room was fine for a one night stay, heating/aircon wasn’t very good and room was cold most of the night but glad to have and electric sheet.

Bistro food was fine for our family, burgers were good and my daughter enjoyed her spaghetti

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank juliemarkvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

“People don’t go to restaurants just to eat food they could have cooked at home.” - Gordon Ramsey

And that’s completely correct. Except the food that we received at the Astor couldn’t have been concocted in our house - let alone in a gaol.

The spaghetti was sitting in a puddle of water with a generous serving of sauce, which unfortunately tasted like canned tomato soup thrown in with the grainiest mince meat they could find.

Not only that, but the chicken parmigiana was burnt in places and slightly undercooked in others and almost needed a steak knife to cut into it. The cheese was fake, the salad on the side old, and the bruschetta we ordered as an entree was even older.

It wasn’t busy, in fact barely anyone was there and that probably should have been the first indicator that the Astor wasn’t worth the $100 we forked our for four meals.

Pitiful and pathetic.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

This was quite ordinary, but had some good features which bumped up the rating for me.

It's close to the hotel which has loads of cheap meals and drinks. It's also not too far from Albury town centre but far enough to be quiet (dependent on what people in the other rooms do I suppose). And the clincher: the TV has the Foxtel premium movies channel at no extra cost. I made much use of that in the late night and mornings.

However it looks old and rundown, the aircon makes noise if you go above the low setting, and forget about cooking stuff as there's only one small sink.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank winner y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews