We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birds Ferry Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Motels(Westport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
250
27
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
27
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew zealandone nightsouth islandsmall lakegreat cookfresh eggsgracious hostsdelicious dinnerremote locationhome growna special placehome cooked mealour honeymoontwo nightsother guestsoff the beaten track
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely rural spot. Plenty to see as you walk around the large property. The hosts have created a comfortable spot with plenty of gardens all around. Gourmet food, stunning views. Westport is about a 20 minute drive. We drove in to a livestock fair and then onto an ocean side cafe for lunch. My highest recommendation.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mary Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay.
Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Birds Ferry Lodge is a lovely surprise. Seemingly out in the middle of nowhere, 1.7 km down a gravel road off a side road off of Hwy 6, it is a ranch style place, unimposing from the outside but beautifully, simply built with slanted wood ceilings, and a spectacular view over forestland to the sea. We were greeted at by two Norwich terriers, a blackboard on the front porch welcoming us by name, and gracious hosts Alison and Andre. Our room was a suite, with the view out of the living room/kitchenette. We enjoyed several walks around the property, past a beautiful pond with domestic and wild geese, lily ponds, bridge, through a bit of a forest trail, then for about a mile around the property’s boundary, across spongy tundra-like terrain with a fabulous view of crenelated forested mountains.
We had reserved both breakfasts and dinners at the lodge, a great choice as Alison is an excellent cook and baker, serving fresh vegetables from her garden, local fish and game, and New Zealand wine with dinner. We come from a city renowned for tomatoes and farm-to-fork cuisine, so it’s a high compliment when we say Alison’s beautifully fresh caprese salad was the best we’ve ever tasted. From the lodge we took day trips to the Foulwind fur seal colony and to a glowworm caving adventure in nearby Charleston. This was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annban09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay.
Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My wife and I were looking for a beautiful, private and romantic cottage on the West coast of the South Island of New Zealand. We had some preconceived notions as to what we would like if we could design the stay ourselves. The cottage at Bird's Ferry hit all of the buttons! Located on a huge, secluded and private segment of land, this amazing cottage was everything we dreamed of. Unbelievably clean ( which is a must for my wife ), extremely well stocked, and cozy. Our only letdown was having to leave! Alison cooked us a superb dinner, which she left for us in the fridge with directions on how to warm it up. Add a bottle of wine, and two people in love, and you have all the ingredients for an ideal stay. We can't recommend Birds Ferry Lodge enough.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revjhaas2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay.
Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The environment is great. The accommodation is first rate. Alison and Andre are excellent hosts. Their advice on where to eat dinner was spot on, and they made a booking for us. The breakfast is great. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BoBoDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay.
Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Birds Ferry is a lovely place to stay. Alison and Andre made us feel right at home and gave us excellent advice on exploring the beautiflul West Coast. With them as hosts, we'd also recommend sharing Alison's excellent meals the other guests. Great fun!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripvis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay.
Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews