We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Night that Trump Became President”
Review of Birds Ferry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birds Ferry Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We spent only one night at Birds Ferry, but what a lovely setting. We stayed in the Ferryman's cottage, which is like paradise on earth. We built a fire and enjoyed sitting on the porch with the beautiful pond, the ducks, and Andre's famous driftwood displays. The food was excellent, and the setting was perfect. We came to the Lodge just after visiting Pancake Rocks, which was a real highlight of our New Zealand trip. We will always remember this night, in part because we were there on Election Night in the United States, and everyone was shocked that Donald Trump won the presidency. Birds Ferry Lodge is a wonderful place to stay no matter what day you stay there.

Room Tip: Get the Ferryman's House if you can
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tmaynes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016

We toured New Zealand for two weeks, staying mostly at B&Bs. Birds Ferry was our favorite and most memorable of all. We really wished we could have extended our stay but the schedule would not allow for it. We were lucky enough to stay in the Ferryman's Cottage. It was just great. The cottage is a stand alone cottage a short walk down a dirt road from the lodge. Andre' had walked ahead and started the fireplace for us so that by the time we finished dinner/drinks our cottage was nice and toasty with a fire going. The cottage has it all: Kitchen, very nice bath, great bedroom, lovely living room, deck overlooking the wilderness out to the sea. My wife loved the cottage's duck pond right out the front door. Allson and Andre' were wonderful hosts. The food was outstanding and we had some great coversations. The lodge is very nice. In the wilderness of the west coast, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: The Ferryman's Cottage is worth it but the lodge is nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed at the Ferry Mans cottage, a self contained luxury cottage overlooking a valley filled with native bush and views out to the ocean. This place is a paradise in a remote location, set in private grounds. Luxury in the middle of the native new zealand bush. Hosts Andre and Alison made our stay unforgettable. We wanted for nothing, they went out of there way to make us feel special. They even organised a special birthday dinner for me at the lodge. The cottage was warm, clean and modern. Soaking in the outside baths with hot water and a glass of wine, watching the sun set over the Tasman Sea ...Amazing! This place is magical...no words can describe how special this haven is, you have to visit and see for yourself

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Skydognz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Peaceful, relaxing and private. The perfect weekend getaway, wish we could have stayed on for longer!! Everything you could possibly need and more plus we could bring our dog. Hope to return again one day only this time for longer!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thanks Amanda - Lovely to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Ferry Mans Cottage as well as your dog!
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We only stayed a couple of nights at the cottage but it was enough to realise that we'll definitely be coming back to stay for longer. The cottage is very private and well equipped for a great relaxing stay.

The finishing touches really made it a special weekend away, with the fridge stocked with breakfast supplies, more fresh eggs than we could ever hope to use, homemade shortbread and a fresh baked loaf of bread.

We didn't take Alison & Andre up on their offer of a cooked meal but I can recommend that you do, or that you at least come ready supplied with food, as once you're there and relaxing in the outdoor hot water bath next to the roaring brazier, you won't want to leave again to find dinner.

We absolutely recommend this for a relaxing couples retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Ferry Mans Cottage and look forward to your next visit! Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
28.4 km away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 8 in Punakaiki
240 reviews
14 km away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
145 reviews
12.4 km away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
705 reviews
14.2 km away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
30.5 km away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Ferry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Ferry Lodge

Address: 163 Birds Ferry Road,, Westport 7892, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: €171 - €361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birds Ferry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birds Ferry Lodge where you will enjoy a wilderness location just North of Punakaiki. This modern and stylish solid timber lodge features comfortable en-suite rooms with baths & balconies with superb mountain, bush and ocean views. The Self-contained cottage "Ferry Man’s Cottage" in its own private garden is perfect for couples seeking privacy or families needing space for children to run. The twin garden baths with hot piped water are a popular ‘kiwiana’ feature! On-site masseuse and day spa. Alison enjoys sourcing local fish and lamb for use in the Lodge kitchen. We grow almost all of the fresh produce used in the kitchen in our 1 hectare vegetable garden along with our own free range eggs from very happy chickens. Be sure to book a dinner which will be a highlight of your stay! FREE WIFI. Nearby are Norwest Adventures, Charleston where you can explore ancient limestone caves and see millions of glow worms. Stay 2 nights to enjoy 10% off the price of this tour. Also nearby is Tauranga Bay where you can view one of New Zealand’s large fur seal colonies and enjoy a scenic cliff top walk to the light house. Stay 2 nights & enjoy a complimentary tailor made local tour with Andre as well as a reduced tariff. NEW for 2011/12 is the "Denniston Experience" which is a short drive from Birds Ferry Lodge. This is a guided trip into a historic coal mine and is outstanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birds Ferry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing