We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Archer House(Westport)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Westport Spa Motel(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaconstone Eco Lodge(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
255
27
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
27
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandone nightsouth islandsmall lakegreat cookwonderful hostsdelicious dinnerhome grownhome cooked mealwatching the sunsetoff the beaten tracktwo nightsbeautiful propertyother gueststasman seacomfortable accommodationstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We toured New Zealand for two weeks, staying mostly at B&Bs. Birds Ferry was our favorite and most memorable of all. We really wished we could have extended our stay but the schedule would not allow for it. We were lucky enough to stay in the Ferryman's Cottage. It was just great. The cottage is a stand alone cottage a short walk down a dirt road from the lodge. Andre' had walked ahead and started the fireplace for us so that by the time we finished dinner/drinks our cottage was nice and toasty with a fire going. The cottage has it all: Kitchen, very nice bath, great bedroom, lovely living room, deck overlooking the wilderness out to the sea. My wife loved the cottage's duck pond right out the front door. Allson and Andre' were wonderful hosts. The food was outstanding and we had some great coversations. The lodge is very nice. In the wilderness of the west coast, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: The Ferryman's Cottage is worth it but the lodge is nice as well.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay.
Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed at the Ferry Mans cottage, a self contained luxury cottage overlooking a valley filled with native bush and views out to the ocean. This place is a paradise in a remote location, set in private grounds. Luxury in the middle of the native new zealand bush. Hosts Andre and Alison made our stay unforgettable. We wanted for nothing, they went out of there way to make us feel special. They even organised a special birthday dinner for me at the lodge. The cottage was warm, clean and modern. Soaking in the outside baths with hot water and a glass of wine, watching the sun set over the Tasman Sea ...Amazing! This place is magical...no words can describe how special this haven is, you have to visit and see for yourself

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Skydognz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Peaceful, relaxing and private. The perfect weekend getaway, wish we could have stayed on for longer!! Everything you could possibly need and more plus we could bring our dog. Hope to return again one day only this time for longer!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Thanks Amanda - Lovely to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Ferry Mans Cottage as well as your dog!
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We only stayed a couple of nights at the cottage but it was enough to realise that we'll definitely be coming back to stay for longer. The cottage is very private and well equipped for a great relaxing stay.

The finishing touches really made it a special weekend away, with the fridge stocked with breakfast supplies, more fresh eggs than we could ever hope to use, homemade shortbread and a fresh baked loaf of bread.

We didn't take Alison & Andre up on their offer of a cooked meal but I can recommend that you do, or that you at least come ready supplied with food, as once you're there and relaxing in the outdoor hot water bath next to the roaring brazier, you won't want to leave again to find dinner.

We absolutely recommend this for a relaxing couples retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Ferry Mans Cottage and look forward to your next visit! Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This place is simply amazing! We arrived late, but Andre and Alison had stocked our refrigerator with bacon, eggs, butter, milk and homemade jam! A perfect ending to a long day! Alison also had a fresh loaf of homemade bread on our kitchen counter. It was wonderful and so welcomed! The cabin we stayed in had a wood-burning fireplace and the atmosphere was tremendously COZY! There was a pond with a charming bridge...and ducks! (a few chickens, too!) This place just felt like home. The cabin had a washer and dryer, which came in handy. The beds were super comfortable and the cabin was spacious. Our only regret was wanting to stay in this great cabin longer. If we manage to make it back to New Zealand, this place with be on our list for sure!! Thank you, Andre and Alison for making our short stay so memorable!

Room Tip: The private cabin is the way to go!! Remarkable!!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsferrylodge, Owner at Birds Ferry Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Thanks for post ing a review of your stay - we are delighted that you enjoyed it! Alison and Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews