We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired dated, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Old place, gardens in need of tidy up. Staff were friendly. First hotel room we were in smelled like someone had thrown up so were moved to motel unit. This was in much better condition and clean. Location average as it was just as you come into town, rather than waterfront but ok.

Room Tip: Pick motel rooms rather than hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Fiordland Hotel/Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in some dodgy motels in the past so maybe my standards are pretty low but this place was great for the one night we stayed. Rooms were clean and while definitely not "modern" I much prefer a clean room to a pretty one. The bed was comfy and the shower hot (though water pressure leaves much to be desired).
Don't judge a book by its cover, the outside of this place is downright shabby. But the owner is a nice guy (loves a chat!). If you're looking for a luxurious hotel to get spoiled in don't book here. But if you're not picky and just crashing for a night or two this place is perfect.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elyse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here for two nights. Have paid $180 per night. Rooms are old and disgusting. The coffee/ tea supply are insufficient. The carpert is sticky and detached from the underlay and rolledup. Worse than all , if you want to have a shower in the morning it is freezing cold after 7 am as a lot of people have had their shower. This is more like a home hot water system rather than an industrial hot water system. Have never had this problem before !!!!. They need to get their act together and provide a hot water system that can cope with demand. I am sure they can afford to do so as they are running at 100% occupancy.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank zhoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Not sure why my experience differed from other travelers but our room was updated and clean - perhaps a different section of the motel?

In any case we rather enjoyed our stay despite the patchy wifi, and it was a good base for us to explore Milford Sound.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in this motel so stay on the ground level if mobility is an issue
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gnitiuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel does not look like the pictures in the listing. The rooms were simple but clean and adequate for our 2 night stay. The views from our room were nice. The hotel looks run down on the outside as well as in the hotel itself, it appears they have done up the rooms at some point but that's it. Overall it was overpriced for what we got especially in comparison to other places we have stayed at for similar price.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank alkirabollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 23 in Te Anau
268 reviews
0.7 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
0.6 km away
Village Inn Hotel
Village Inn Hotel
#21 of 23 in Te Anau
129 reviews
0.8 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: €50 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing