We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage, Wonderful hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of SOU'WEST COTTAGE

Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Kitchen with Kettle, toaster, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee plunger, tea pot. Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Kitchen with Kettle, toaster, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee plunger, tea pot.
Kitchen area
Super king comfortable and warm bed. Can also be split into 2 singles if requested
Comfortable leather lounge suite
Dining area and TV
Morning sun streaming in to the lounge. Lovely garden views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RossPeck
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage, Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Sacha made us feel right at home the moment we showed up. Not only was the place spotless but gave a great feel of home away from home. The decor was tasteful and quaint but was also on a beautiful property. I highly recommend a stay at Sou'West Cottage.

Thank you very much for all of your kindness Sacha and Gareth.

I hope to return someday soon,

Ross

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wonderful cottage minutes away from town”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We arrived in the evening at Sacha and Gareth's cottage which was very is easy to find even in the dark. Since we were arriving later on, Sacha was sure to tell us what restaurants would still be open and even could deliver to the cottage directly (which was so helpful after a long day of driving from Franz Josef). Their cottage is very close to town and all the attractions you would want to see when in Te Anau or surrounding areas. We stayed here for 2 nights before heading out to hike the Routeburn track, and visit the surrounding Sounds. It was a 5min drive into Te Anau which had wonderful restaurants (Kepler's, La Toscana Pizza, and Black Dog bar were some of our favourites), and a nice path to walk along the water. The cottage has everything you need (is clean and really comfortable), and Sacha and Gareth were the perfect hosts. Their property is gorgeous and peaceful, and it was the perfect place to rest up in between our camping and hikes. They have a ton of recommendations for activities regardless of the weather, and are happy to show you around their property and meet all of their lovely pets - a memory we will always cherish! We couldn't thank them enough and would definitely stay there again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOWARD G
1 review
“Wonderful, comfortable cottage with great hosts.”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Southwest cottage is terrific, and Sacha and Gareth are great hosts. The cottage is a few kilometers--and a 5 min drive--from Te Anu. It is an easy trip to the Milford Rd or to Manapouri, where we caught an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound w Deep Cove Charters. The cottage is next door to Sacha's and Gareth's own home on their small farm but has plenty of privacy. They made us feel like old friends. We hope to be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriag...
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Sou west cottage is idyllic, tranquil and relaxing. Gareth and sacha are very accommodating ensuring all needs are met and providing a tour of the surrounding farm and animals. The georgeous views from the sitting room and bedroom are identical if not more spectacular then the pictures provided. Loved the stay and will definatley return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelnut...
New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Guest”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We loved this little cottage. It’s comfortable for two people and the perfect location for exploring the Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound area. The hosts are personable and helpful in planning your activities. We highly recommend this cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing