We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
from US$102.90
More Info
from US$59.10
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
241
134
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
134
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways rough crossing return trip tea and coffee roller coaster wild ride rear deck sea legs hour crossing sea conditions motion sickness secure car park lucky with the weather pleasant trip efficient service great ride
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We went on a day which was very rocky on the waters and I almost puked my guts out. Me and 5 other passengers were sitting at the back of the boat, eyes on the horizon, clutching onto our barf bags.

Complementary tea and coffee was available, but as soon as the boat headed out, all the passengers were either glued to their seats or running out to the back so they could puke overboard. Make sure you get your coffee or tea before the boat moves out!

The crew were clearly experienced, sailor legs and all. Really helped everyone who didn't feel well on the boat out.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank chvrche5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Yes, it can be a little choppy at times, but then as you mention our team are experienced professionals and very hospitable. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We booked the Bird watching trip to Ulva Island. We were surprised that there were only 3 of us on this trip! Talk about a treat! Our crew was great, very informative and fun. We were on our way to Ulva Island when suddenly our captain spotted a whale breaching the water. We spent quite a bit of time following him and watching. It was great! We saw blue penguins playing in the water and seals laying on rocks. Our tour of Ulva Island was great. A very beautiful place and our guide was fantastic, sharing all sorts of information. We saw several rare birds and the Southern Right Whale?! It was the best finale to our last day in NZ! You can't beat it!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank shutter_bug1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are thrilled to read your comments.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Very comfortable ferry and great staff. Crossing was quite rough on our return journey but crew were very helpful.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank missa554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi there and thanks for the five star review. Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We had a smooth ride on the way to and from Stewart island. They served tea and coffee on board. All in all it was a good experience but not special in any way.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Sabine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is a fairly straightforward ferry experience. Stewart Island is absolutely worth visiting so this is kind of a must. Pay the ticket price, load your baggage into one of the bins, then board the ferry. We had fairly calm waters but was still a little rough. I know some friends who traveled the day after and had very rough seas. If you are prone to sea sickness definitely take some medicine or ginger prior to sailing. Otherwise a good experience with them!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mtingtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to post this review. Yes, the crossing can be rough on occasion however we have a fantastic crew to look after any concerned guests. We are thrilled to read your comments stating that a visit to Stewart Island is a must do, we completely agree!
Kind regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews