We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough weather but great crew”

Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.59*
and up
Return Ferry to Stewart Island from Bluff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stewart Island Experience operates daily ferry service between Bluff and Stewart Island all year around. Stewart Island is New Zealand's ultimate eco-tourism destination and the location of Rakiura National Park. During the one hour ferry crossing, keep a look out for the Mollymawks (Albatross) that often follow the vessel. Daily coach connections operate between Bluff and Invercargill, and in summer also to Te Anau and Queenstown (summer only).
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

The boat is amazing. Despite 5m waves and 70km winds, the boat coped very well.

The crew in those conditions were terrific assisting passengers.

Thank Raynboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. The crossing can be a little rough at times so we appreciate your kind comments around the quality and helpfulness of our crew.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"foveaux strait"
in 32 reviews
"both ways"
in 19 reviews
"rough seas"
in 12 reviews
"return trip"
in 23 reviews
"wild ride"
in 8 reviews
"complimentary tea and coffee"
in 7 reviews
"rear deck"
in 5 reviews
"rough ride"
in 8 reviews
"sea legs"
in 5 reviews
"hour crossing"
in 5 reviews
"sea conditions"
in 4 reviews
"secure car park"
in 4 reviews
"prone to sea sickness"
in 4 reviews
"lucky with the weather"
in 4 reviews
"efficient service"
in 8 reviews
"pleasant trip"
in 5 reviews
"great ride"
in 5 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2018

We went on a day which was very rocky on the waters and I almost puked my guts out. Me and 5 other passengers were sitting at the back of the boat, eyes on the horizon, clutching onto our barf bags.

Complementary tea and coffee was available, but as soon as the boat headed out, all the passengers were either glued to their seats or running out to the back so they could puke overboard. Make sure you get your coffee or tea before the boat moves out!

The crew were clearly experienced, sailor legs and all. Really helped everyone who didn't feel well on the boat out.

Thank chvrche5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Yes, it can be a little choppy at times, but then as you mention our team are experienced professionals and very hospitable. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We booked the Bird watching trip to Ulva Island. We were surprised that there were only 3 of us on this trip! Talk about a treat! Our crew was great, very informative and fun. We were on our way to Ulva Island when suddenly our captain spotted a whale breaching the water. We spent quite a bit of time following him and watching. It was great! We saw blue penguins playing in the water and seals laying on rocks. Our tour of Ulva Island was great. A very beautiful place and our guide was fantastic, sharing all sorts of information. We saw several rare birds and the Southern Right Whale?! It was the best finale to our last day in NZ! You can't beat it!

1  Thank shutter_bug1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are thrilled to read your comments.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

I was with a group of American sailors on Stewart Island recently. The weather was to say the least challenging and all ferries were cancelled on one of the days we were there. However the staff of Stewart Island Experience were just wonderful. The afternoon Village and bays tour I had booked for the group was moved to the morning on our request and this was absolutely no bother to the company. Josephine our guide was a super star. She re-organised her day around us and then delivered a most interesting commentary with energy and enthusiasm...NZ tourism needs more like her. On the return ferry Josephine, Macka and the skipper could not do enough......the best crew one could wish to look after you. So a big thanks team for making our stay so special.

Thank QCLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Kia Ora QCLodge, Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review. We are very happy to hear you had a lovely experience and that our team took good care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Very comfortable ferry and great staff. Crossing was quite rough on our return journey but crew were very helpful.

Thank missa554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi there and thanks for the five star review. Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing