We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very worthwhile”

Walter Peak High Country Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$61.17*
and up
Walter Peak Gourmet BBQ Lunch
Ranked #6 of 119 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Disembark from your TSS Earnslaw Cruise and experience New Zealand's high country farming lifestyle. Join our rural host for a walking tour of Walter Peak's farmyard. Help feed the sheep, get close to deer and Scottish Highland Cattle, watch the farm dogs in action and see the farmer shear a sheep. Stroll through the gardens to the Colonel's Homestead Restaurant for morning/afternoon tea beside the lake.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
HCMC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very worthwhile”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Really good fun, educational, cute animals, lovely tea and cakes, beautiful scenery, staff are friendly and the old gentleman that took us on the tour was very funny and entertaining...this one's is great for a family, couple, actually anyone !

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    233
    46
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

A perfect family outing! With feeding the animals, beautiful garden, historical steamship, sheep shearing show, and delicious afternoon tea, can't explain more than saying a perfect family trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun ride on the Earnslaw”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

enjoyed the sheep shearing and rounding up the sheep with the dogs. liked the tea but not keen on the pastry

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect Queenstown day”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I've been lucky enough to visit Walter Peak four times over the years. This last time was definitely my favourite. We took the afternoon tea option and I enjoyed that the most out of the meal options I've tried.

The trip over on the TSS Earnslaw is just lovely... a very special opportunity to glimpse the past (especially going inside to see the coal fired engines). 2012 is the 100th birthday of the boat.. so I imagine there will be lots of celebrations for that.

Once you get to Walter Peak, it's like another world. Gorgeous scenery (just insanely beautiful), and the farmer who takes you on the tour does a great job of including everyone and telling you a little about how the sheep station works. He's full of character, has a silly sense of humour and seems right out of a movie... I loved him! We got to pat deer, sheep, highland cattle and of course to feed the lambs. The demonstration of the working sheepdogs is so impressive - they're brilliant animals.. and then the sheep shearing too.

I don't think it matter what age you are... this is just a good fun happy sort of day. The tea and scones and pikelets were delish, and the locale was just lovely. I could have stayed there for ages. Nice shop if you want to buy souvenirs. Kiinda wish I was there right now.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank smalljude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Had a lovely day with the trip on the lake out to the Walter Peak country farm. Views are to die for! Had the guided tour of the farm along with the sheep shearing show and a lovely afternoon tea. A fabulous family activity!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank rebeccadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walter Peak High Country Farm also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Walter Peak High Country Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing