We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty tasting rooms and staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peregrine Wines

Peregrine Wines
Book In Advance
US$116.99*
and up
Original Wine Tour
Ranked #34 of 110 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peregrine Wines are the producers of the Peregrine, Saddleback and Mohua range of wines, located an easy 25 minutes drive from Queenstown in the heart Gibbston. Surrounded by a rugged and majestic landscape, our stunning Winery building has won international awards and accolades for its design and construction, which evokes the wingspan of a Peregrine (native falcon or Karearea) as it glides on thermal air rising from the heated land.Peregrine is a boutique, artisan producer of a premium range of wines that focus on Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Riesling and Chardonnay. It is a brand that since the first vintage has gain reputation both domestically and internationally as one of New Zealand’s iconic wine brands.Come and visit us at the Cellar Door every day from 10am-5pm. We trust that you will leave with fond memories of both our winery and our fabulous wines.
Forges
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pretty tasting rooms and staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

A very commercial tasting in a stunning setting and with friendly and attractive staff. Sadly they weren't very knowledgeable about their wines. Only a limited (bottom end) range were available for tasting. The wines were OK, though it was hard to judge the winery as a whole from the selection offered. Good but not exciting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank IaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    35
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a good array of wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The cellar door is strikingly unusual, and I think may have won an architectural award. It can be noisy in there, especially if other groups are visiting. However, from the 5 vineyards I visited this had the nicest range of wines. I just wish a few more were of them were available in the UK.

P.s check out the little stone outbuilding near the car park. Apparently it is one of the oldest in the region and was being set up for a wedding during my visit. What a setting: Lucky bride and groom!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank northernkiwi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wines were expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were disappointed that the wines were as expensive at the vineyards where they were produced as at the local restaurants, quite unlike a similar experience we have had in Alsace, where wines purchased at the producing vineyards are excellent value.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JKArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This would be such a pretty spot for a wedding or event. The cellar door staff was nice and personable. I would recommend a visit for atmosphere and also for the excellent wines!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture, average wines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

A lovely setting, and stunning architecture, but found the wines didn't compare well to most other Central Otago wines.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank EJBSHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peregrine Wines also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Peregrine Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing