We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveller rating
627
480
184
62
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
480
184
62
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewater taxiwarm cookieskawarau villageclose to the airportsliding doorwakatipu grillstacks publake viewfree shuttlesmall kitchenettebathroom floorseparate bedroomshuttle serviceminute driveunderground parkingliving area
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed 2 nights in King Accessible Room - spacious studio type complete with kitchen & tv hall which separated with bedroom by sliding door. Welcomed by hot delicious cookies, macaroons & wine (which I can't drink) upon arrival. Great location, the hotel itself is by the lake hence the majestic view. You can actually see the town just across the lake. Very convenient as it is located only 15-20 minutes to town by car. Staffs are all friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for business or leisure.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank ainnaemira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

3 Night stay. Lakeview 1 bed apartment on Hilton Honours floor. Underground parking a bonus meant car wasn't frosted and frozen over each morning. Great pub and other food choices on the property. Water taxi to QT central was great. Room was clean and well appointed, bathroom was quite small but modern, actually quite liked I could rest head on heated towel rail while on the loo or warm my hands :-) Each day there was a sweet customised message from Housekeeping which was a lovely personal touch. Lovely views of lake and surrounding mountains. Some may say the Frankton location is a bit far from town, we loved it, quieter and easy access. No coffee plunger no problem one delivered straight away.

Room Tip: Pay for the lakeview rooms its worth it
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank megpage2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Stayed at the DoubleTree recently for a week for work and had a fantastic stay. First of all, the Hilton and DoubleTree are in the same resort area. It's close to Remarkable's ski field but quite far from Queenstown itself ($45 taxi which is about 15-20min or $10 water taxi or free hotel shuttle). The DoubleTree is not designed to be as luxurious as the Hilton but the rooms were stunning. I had a King Lakeview and the room was large with some cooking facilities and had a separate living area which was appreciated when staying in a hotel for a week. Top notch cleaning and really nicely designed and furnished. The only negatives here are the bathroom - there is no extractor fan so everything fogs up, and they have shower/bath combos which are badly designed so all the water pools on the flat bath surrounds and then from there floods the whole bathroom floor.

Service was very good and staff checked in and always smiled and greeted me coming in and out of the hotel. The only minor point was I told them twice about the bathroom flooding issue and both times they promised maintenance would sort something out. Nothing ever happened.

There are three restaurants onsite (standard hotel restaurant, chinese restaurant and a pub). All had really good food for dinner and well priced. Breakfast at Wakatipu Grill was fantastic with the biggest range of hot and continental buffet options I've seen in a hotel in NZ.

I'd definitely stay here again for a nice break away or if skiing in the Remarkables.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Good quality rooms, comfortable and warm. Would highly recommend this hotel. The cleaners do a fantastic job and even left us notes asking about our day. We felt very welcome here. We had a few bad experiences at Stacks pub but overall okay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank nznicki2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on a two night stay during a South Island road trip.

Not normally one to rate Hilton hotels so highly, this one simply pulls it out of the bag on every level. The location is stunning with amazing views across to Queenstown, and only a 10 mins drive to the town itself.

Whilst here I stayed in one of the apartment style rooms, which was top notch - everything from cleanliness to service was superb. Used he room service one of the evenings which again was great, and also the Wine Bar over the road at the Hilton.

Highly recommend this place for a great quality nights stay in the Queenstown area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Leeavonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews