We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Garden Court Suites & Apartments(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highview Apartments(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Browns Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Shores(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$528
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Blue Peaks Lodge(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveller rating
620
473
181
60
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
473
181
60
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewater taxiwarm cookieskawarau villageclose to the airportsliding doorstacks pubwakatipu grilllake viewfree shuttlesmall kitchenettebathroom floorseparate bedroomminute driveunderground parkingshuttle serviceliving area
Filter
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was looking for something affordable in Queenstown area for a few nights and found this advertised for approx $75 per night, looked great in photos but didn't expect too much. We arrived and it looked even better than the pics. Room was beautiful, staff friendly and was situated in village with everything you need. Also found a really nice running track around the lake from the base of the hotel. Would've loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whytecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Whytecox

It was great to see you were pleasantly surprised with our village.
Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay for longer next time.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

While in Queenstown for a weekend we stayed at Kawarau Hotel and had an outstanding time. The staff were unobtrusive, the room was very spacious, clean and well looked after. Had take out from the noodle place (Me & Mee) which could have had more flavour and had a very luxurious massage at the spa. Used the water taxi service and went into Queenstown where we had lunch at Sasso ***** - see my other review. Overall an enjoyable stay - We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanEllis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear AlanEllis2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience so many of our facilities in the village.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate my mothers birthday. It was fantastic. The rooms are really comfortable and the view of lake Wakatipu are brilliant. The room layout is nice with lots of natural sunlight for the day time and those fantastic block out curtains that really make the room dark for those sleepy mornings. The showers are a bit pokey but do the job and they have great heaters in them that warm up the bathroom almost instantaneously. The hotel is about 20 min from Queenstown which is a bit far but they do have a water taxi that runs every hour and a bus that also runs every hour.

The restaurant Me Mee was a really nice Asian restaurant with very quick and easy meals. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

We also ate at Stacks pub which had great tasting food with really nice staff members. These meals would be the best after a big day of skiing/snowboarding.

Room Tip: book lake view
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suede16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear suede16

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and your mothers birthday.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We booked for 3 nights in Dec 2012 just prior to New Year. It was great value, one of the best prices in Queenstown, and for a modern, comfortable, almost new hotel. The lobby was a welcoming if not overly opulent, uncluttered contemporary space. The room was in perfect condition, very clean and comfortable, quiet, room service was great - from the Hilton Hotel next door, staff were very helpful, and the Qbook adjacent to the lobby is almost better than having a concierge. We stayed in the Hilton for the next two nights (that is for another review) and whilst it was undoubtedly much more luxurious, we almost preferred the Kawarau room for the kitchenette, and overall good value. And the toiletries were the same too!
The only downsides were the limited car parking in the basement (although we always found the last spot!) and the location. Finding the hotel when we arrived very late on the first night was a bit stressful, it is located a long way from the town centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear e c

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience both hotels.

I appreciate the tight parking facilities. Over the new year period with 300 rooms in the village full, it was very busy in the underground park. We are very fortunate to have plenty of space on the roadside as well. This is something we could not offer if we were situated any closer to the centre of Queenstown.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We chose the hotel based on positive Tripadvisor reviews and were pleasantly surprised. For $80/night (during the summer), you get free breakfast in the nearby Hilton, access to Hilton gym and swimming pool, free parking and very nice room with separate living room and bedroom. The only downside is that you either need a car to get to Queenstown (10 min drive) or pay for the lake ferry (comes every 30 mins).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom101cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear tom101cz

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.
Thank you for mentioning the water taxi and there is also a regular bus service from the village into Queenstown.

I do hope you will visit us again when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews