We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for local touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here a week. Very comfortable rooms, super views even from basic room. All facilities for self catering if wanted but access to all Hilton restaurants, bar etc. Breakfast good in Kawaru Hilton, but expensive. Only complaint was room repeatedly not serviced until late afternoon / early evening

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffiandcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear saffiandcleo

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback.

I understand your concerns over the time/lack of servicing of rooms. This is an area we are looking at and have new team members on board undergoing training. Our aim is to have all rooms serviced daily before 3pm.

Thank you again for placing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel some time soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,215 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had an overnight stay here recently (26th Feb '12) and thought it was fantastic.
The room was beautiful (it also had a lovely small kitchenette), very quiet and the staff very friendly. It's such good value for money too. I would most definately recommend it!

Room Tip: We chose a "basic" room and it had a view of the lake and kitchenette - it was really love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinasydney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear kristinasydney2

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel. I was so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and happy to hear you will recommend our hotel.

If your travels bring you back to Queenstown, I would very much like to welcome you back to stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice view from the lake view rooms. Shame the very small balcony is filled up with the air con unit so don't expect to sit and have a wine on this balcony! If you what to do that then stay at the Hilton in one of there lake view rooms (for a lot more$$$'s) The room is small but well layed out with everything you might need for a couple of nights stay. The Bar and Grill are both worth a visit too. The water taxi is a great and cheap way to get to town. Nice hotel and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher up the better and ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandHugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear New Zealand Hugz

It is always nice to hear guests say they would stay with us again.

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel. I was pleased to see you visited the Wakatipu Grill and used the water taxi.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I took advantage of some great rates to stay one night. It's a beautiful new hotel, the room was well appointed. For some reason they have designed the level of the bathroom floor below the lounge area causing me to stumble a couple of times. I had an early flight out in the morning so the location worked well for me this time

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38Idris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear IRFitz

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I was pleased to see everything worked well for you. I understand your comments regarding the step in the bathroom. This was a health and safety requirements at the time of construction, however we are currently looking at adding some signage to avoid any stumbles for guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is really good value for money, yes it is a little out of Queenstown but there is the free shuttle bus and A $15 return water taxi which is really good, we had a lake view room which was really lovely it's just a shame that the small balcony you have is filled with the air con unit. I would disagree with a few of the other reviewers in that I thought the room was very spacious. You also get to use the wine bar and restaurant in the hilton, the only thing you can't use is the swimming pool but givin that if you stay in the Hilton you will be paying about 3 times more I can understand this, we ate in both the noodle bar and the bar and the food/drink and service were all great.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear PammyO

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to see you were able to make use of many of the facilities within the village.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Kawarau should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.4 km away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
7.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,261 reviews
6.9 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,648 reviews
5.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: €105 - €306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing