We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,410)
Filter reviews
1,410 results
Traveller rating
634
482
185
63
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
482
185
63
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree water taxi warm cookies kawarau village close to the airport sliding door wakatipu grill stacks pub lake view free shuttle small kitchenette bathroom floor separate bedroom underground parking living area short drive in town
Filter
Updating list...
1,298 - 1,303 of 1,410 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This place is wonderful and a soothing compliment to bustling Queenstown. The property is situated at a great location with fantastic views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables (even though it was summer). So you can enjoy your whole day in Queenstown and the surrounding areas and come back to a relaxed evening at one of their restaurants or take a walk along the lake.

The rooms are a bit on the smaller side but the amenities are good. The bed is really comfortable. The shower over bath is a bit tricky and can get slippery, but the last I heard from them, they are taking steps to rectify that.

The staff live up to the brand name. Whether it is the housekeeping staff or the reception or staff at the restaurants, the experience is pleasant and you can see a genuine warmth in their response. Jessica the lady at their activity booking area is the pick. She was really helpful in literally making our week long itinerary once we reached there. The staff at the Stacks Pub were great. One fine day we felt like having a couple of their pizzas but were not that hungry to have two pizzas. I was really surpised that they made a Half and Half Pizza that gave us a taste of both and we didnt have to order two. Checkin and checkout were smooth. Inspite of being vegetarian we never felt out of place at any of their restaurants.

Finally the water taxi...It is a good way to reaching Queenstown... Was scared on one of the days when it started raining with heavy winds...so had an adventure ride back (safe though :-)).

Overall a great place to stay and eat. Will stay again if we visit Queenstown.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally good. In winter it might be good to pick one with the view of the remarkables.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GanapathyIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear Ganapathylyer

Thank you for such a detailed positive review of your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel in Queenstown.
I was so pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience the many attractions in the village.
Yes you are correct in that we are taking steps to rectify the shower/bath layout.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and I would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Warm regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for one night - overall quite happy.

Pros:

- Nice rooms, well appointed (get one with a lake view)
- Fantastic beds, had some real good sleep
- Convenient location in respect to the airport, not to town, although great lake views over Kawarau river and the lake

Contras:

- Very limited breakfast choice and could be improved a lot
- Staff was friendly but not always helpful
- Incredible expensive internet access, limited per one single device - this is something that the hotel management should consider making complimentary

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear psychoactive
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your stay with us.
The internet often comes up in conversations and I am happy to advise Hilton Worldwide are currently reviewing their charges.
Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting Queenstown.
Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We flew from LA to Auckland, then Auckland to Queenstown and were beat. We didn't want to have to deal with city traffic so we rented a car at the airport and less than ten minutes later were at the hotel. Very comfortable huge bed in blackout dark room, small sitting room with stereo and TV, and ultramodern bathroom and tub. We ate at the associated pub and had a more than adequate meal. The included breakfast the next morning was also good -- croissants, cereal, coffee, juice, toast, fruit, yogurt, etc.

If you are interested in spending time in Queenstown, this would not be the most convenient place, especially without a car. The water taxi ride isn't cheap, but would probably be fun. My only gripe was that the web site led me to believe that there was free wifi. There was actually free hookup for a laptop. Wifi was an extra charge, and was not available even in the lobby, which is often the case. Other than that, this was a perfect place for what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Been there around two days. Close to the Airport, but far from the Queens town city.
Water Taxi (Boat) could take us to the city and back at the cost of $15.
Room was clean, and too many flash and brand new stuff inside. No water in the fridge by the way. It was studio apartment, and the major problem was, when I slept on the bed, there was no view of TV!!!
Absolutely no view and no balcony. Rooms are small too.
No swimming pool as they said, pool is only for Hilton customers, so Hilton is just a brand for this property.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaminoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Kaminoush

Thank you for placing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

Yes the village is new, we have only been open for eight months. There are two room types, a lake view and a guest room. I apologise if you were not made aware of this during check-in.

I understand your comment regarding the pool, however, the Hilton Hotel is a five star hotel and guests pay a lot more to stay in the Hilton therefore the facilities need to reflect that.

Thank you for mentioning the water taxi and also a complimentary hotel shuttle operates hourly trips into downtown Queenstown.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a spectacular new suite hotel a bit outside of Queenstown. You'll need a car or some sort of transportation to get to town (about 8 km of beautiful winding road along the Wakatipu Lake!) or you can take the water taxi which stops right at the Hilton dock.. The hotel is adjacent to the Hilton Hotel (same complex) and the guests have all of the rights and privileges of the Hilton. This hotel has beautiful views of the Remarkables Mountain Range and the Lake. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. There is a delicatessen on premises along with main restaurant and a luncheon restaurant. The rooms are comfortable and well-outfitted. We'll stay there again on our next trip to Queenstown!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear wjpollak

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
We are very fortunate to have both the lake and a stunning mountain range right at our doorstep.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next trip to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews