We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tapas, wine, location, and customer service!”
Review of Eichardt's Bar

Eichardt's Bar
Ranked #14 of 261 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Modern New Zealand cuisine served Tapas style with tasting plates. Fresh, local produce. Outstanding wine selection and brilliant cocktail list. Please note it is not possible to reserve tables - Eichardt's is a small bar with 7 tables only, bookings are not practical. When full, guests are offered the option to wait in the hotel foyer and drinks may be taken there.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Tapas, wine, location, and customer service!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We didnt stay at the hotel but stumbled on the restaurant with an interest in a tapas meal. We got the best seat in the house overlooking the lake. The service was excellent with great suggestions on tapas options as well as wine. Very enjoyable dining experience, highly recommend.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Es4vols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Es4vols1
Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Eichardt’s Bar. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our service – the bar team are very knowledgeable and passionate and is fantastic you liked their suggestions. We are fortunate to be situated on Queenstown’s premier waterfront site and the views are glorious – and change over the course of the year with each season. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    185
    40
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent tapis in a pleasant setting”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The food was excellent, and was timed to arrive just as requested. The service was also very pleasant, as was the setting itself. The outdoor bar is also very atmospheric, although we stayed inside due to the weather.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Paul F
Thank you posting a review of your experience at Eichardt’s Bar. It was great to see you enjoyed our service and surroundings – and I am pleased that you received your food as per requested timing. It is the small things that count and we do our very best to go the ‘extra mile’ for every single patron. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s
Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Try Tapas on their Patio”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A great light dinner in a special atmosphere. You will not be disappointed in the food or the service.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Lori G
Thank you for taking the time to review your Eichardt’s Bar experience. Our courtyard area overlooking Lake Wakatipu was developed last year to provide a stunning location to soak in the sun and then enjoy brilliant hospitality in a relaxed yet friendly environment. At night the trees in the courtyard are illuminated by fairy bud lights, and the outdoor tables have a soft glow with candles – a great place to stop by day or night! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s
Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tapas bar- top nz wines , and try the goats cheese, fig amd comb honey tapas!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We looked for something different , eicharts is top end on expense , so didn't stay there but the bar is great . Does not do dinners, but wide range od delicious tapas . hotel right on lakeside, in middle of all the action - so lots to look at. woild be cosy in winter too .

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Tony H
Thank you for your kind review. Eichardt's is a very special destination and I am glad you enjoyed your Bar experience with us. The intimacy and exclusive feel of the bar adds to the ambience of the space and I have great pride in all my staff here and they definitely go 'above and beyond' for all our guests. The roaring open wood fire in Winter is an absolute treat! We look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's
Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best mixed drinks, savory tapas, luxury ambiance.”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I loved the Green Tea and Cucumber Martini - so refreshing and tasty; and the tapas were well done - we had the white bait fritters, chorizo sausage, beef skewers, and goats cheese with walnuts and honeycomb. All excellent and we ate every piece! They know how to mix drinks and the service was excellent. A must visit when you want to relax after an adventurous day. A bit expensive, but well worth it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Audra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Bar, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Audra E

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Eichardt’s Bar. Our wine list and cocktail selections have won International awards and its fabulous to see you enjoyed your Green Tea and Cucumber Martini – they certainly are refreshing after a long day in the sun! We are pleased you enjoyed your tapas and our service. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eichardt's Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Eichardt's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing