We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Alpes - CLOSED

Les Alpes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Your Tastiest Restaurant Experience In Queenstown: A French Culinary Journey Passionately Combined With The Unique Taste Of New Zealand Produce. A rare experience for any restaurant in Queenstown. What do you think about discovering how New Zealand Wines enhance French food and how French Cuisine enhances New Zealand produce? For example, try New Zealand Lamb cooked the French way! Les Alpes restaurant will allow you to experience authentic fine French food, cooked only with fresh ingredients, come and try our homemade products ! Our restaurant offers gluten free and diary free and vegetarian options. If you are a wine enthusiast, you will marvel at the 80+ wine references that bring you the regions of Burgundy, Champagne, and Provence, as well as the best wines New Zealand has to offer. Les Alpes can provide at once a cosy atmosphere for romantic dinners and a friendly ambiance for functions (80+ groups). Experience our Live music venues every Friday & Saturday,enjoy at the same time a gourmet dinner and a jazzy concert !
Merseyside
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

A bit pricey but they do good food and coffee. More upmarket that many eating places in Queenstown.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wirraldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    75
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice French Cafe/Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had lunch at Les Alpes - Omelette Campagne, Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice. For dessert, I went for an almond macaroon and a coconut and raspberry mousse cake. The food was really delicious. I'm a real fan of dessert but the coconut and raspberry mousse was so good, I still think about it from time to time! Les Alpes is on Church Street away from the busy Mall so you can relax and admire beautiful Lake Wakatipu while having a coffee, dessert or something to eat. There are a couple of tables outside and plenty of seating space inside. While the interior is a large open plan, it felt quite cosy and homey to me and the couch at the back certainly contributed to that feeling. I have a french background and it was a real pleasure to be able to converse with the owner and waitress in french. They were really nice as well - definitely worth another visit next time!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A perfect romantic Valentines night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were a group of 4 that went to Les Alpes for Valentines Day meal.

They set the Tone of the evening by greeting our wives with a rose, & a complementary glass of champagne for all of us.

All 4 meals were cooked perfectly & beautifully presented. A Valentines dinner to remember.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Fresh juice, excellent pastries, French owners and cute French waitress, a warm day, gentle breeze and glimpses of the lake. The pub next door obligingly played some laid-back jazz at a comfortable level. (I think I was purring ...)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“perhaps I caught them at an inconvenient time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Read the other reviews and was looking forward to trying the restaurant.
It was 2:00pm... after the busy lunch hour. The service was poor. Took 15 minutes for the water and to have someone finally take my order. Ordered the appetizer portion of the steak tartare and a glass of red. The appetizer came 20 minutes later with no toast or wine. Asked for the wine and it came 5 minutes later and reminded server of the toast which came around 10 minutes later. The restaurant was empty except for 7 people . I had time and was willing to have a relaxing lunch. It appeared that the french speaking clientele appeared to get a little favoritism. The manager was at their table for the majority of time I was there.
She did appear at my table when it came to the bill.
The couple from Los Angeles sitting next to me experienced similar service.
The steak tartare was good and the wine average.
Aprox. $21NZD for steak tartare appetizer. Steak tartare entree $31NZD

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Alpes also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing