We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little find.”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in a twin room with a shared bathroom in Nov/Dec 2011. The bathroom was shared with one other room (which also a twin or double).

For the price, I really cannot fault this place. The room was very clean, quiet and the beds were super comfortable. The shared kitchen/living room facilities were also very clean, as was the bathroom. The shower pressure was amazing! As other reviewers have noted, the dorm rooms were in a separate building to the private rooms, with separate shared facilities, which I think this is an inspired idea.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I had an emergency visit to hospital the day were were originally booked to arrive in Queenstown, so we had to cancel our first night with Aspen Lodge at the last minute and rearrange our other nights. The staff were understanding and didn't charge us any fee for the late cancellation - very much appreciated!

We stayed here before and after hiking one of the Great Walks and they stored our bags for us during the walk at no extra charge. Really excellent budget accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    34
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
58
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

It was one of the best hostels I have stayed, rooms are spacious & clean. The common room is cozy with a good size. The bathroom is clean and the shower is nice & hot. Staffs are helpful & very welcoming which I asked to stay in a less crowded 4 beds dorm & she gave me a room just by ourselves!! The walk to town centre is less than 5 mins which is very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAn0therTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Great location - 2mins walk into town and 2min walk to supermarket. Had double room with shared b/room. Room was in separate building from main building. Only shared bathroom with one other room. Had separate kitchen and living area with tv. Not as social as the main living room but great if u want the tv and DVD collection to yourselves. And the kitchen gets less busy. Staff were fab - gave great advice and booked activities for us. Free parking. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I was looking to stay in a nice, clean in-suite room without breaking my budget (so that I can spend it all on adrenaline filled adventure tours). After doing some good research and reading a lot of reviews of different Hotels and Hostels around town I decided to stay at Aspen Backpackers. IT WAS THE BEST DECISION EVER. The place was great (room 16 or 17 are both great), clean carpets, clean bathrooms, 2 kitchens (didnt use them though) and an amazing staff. The staff was VERY helpful on giving tips, arranging storage of backpacks, making reservations multiple times, etc etc. The rooms (16 and 17) have very clean bathrooms and are away from anything that could keep you up at night.
I think this is my second review ever, however this place really deserved to be noted as a great place to stay in Queenstown. To the point that after doing the Milford track and with 4 nights without showering, instead of going back to a nice Hotel as planned I decided to go back to Aspen and stayed there my last night in town. Finally, it is conveniently located just 2 or three blocks from downtown (perfect)

Room Tip: rooms 16 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We only spent 1 night in Aspen Lodge Backpackers, nice reception, clean, well located in town. We had a double room which bathroom is only shared with another room. And there are 2 kitchens and common rooms in 2 different bldgs (dorm / private room) so it would not be crowd at anytime. The only cons would be no view as other backpackers that located next to the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
439 reviews
0.1 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
338 reviews
0.2 km away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#35 of 90 in Queenstown
179 reviews
0.7 km away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#29 of 90 in Queenstown
485 reviews
0.2 km away
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
#48 of 90 in Queenstown
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Property: Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing