We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
1,036
316
98
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,036
316
98
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room these apartments road noise gas fire full kitchen walk into town underfloor heating amazing views undercover parking great apartment frankton road lake and mountains washer and dryer small kitchenette laundry facilities our honeymoon we loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

My husband and I booked 2 nights in a studio flat at Pounamu Apartments with booking.com, for the night before and the night after our wedding in Queenstown. However, shortly after booking, we received a phone call from a lady who explained that we could still have what we'd booked, but we'd have to move to a different room on our second night. I explained that it would be our wedding night, and asked if we could have a small discount for the inconvenience, but she said that would not be possible and verged on being rude. Nevertheless, upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the politeness of the staff we met. The lady in reception took us to our room, showed us where everything was and told us to leave our bags in our room the next day and the staff would move them to our next room. The room was very nice, clean and exactly how it was described when booking. After our wedding, we went back to reception to be told we had been upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. Again, we were shown around by a member of staff, and stunned by how beautiful the apartment was with big windows looking out onto the lake and mountains. We were left a bottle of champagne, a personalised card, chocolates and petals on the bed. We also made use of their spa pool, which also has lake and mountain views. Our stay at Pounamu Apartments was special and memorable.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 995emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear 995emily

We are so pleased that you joined us at Pounamu for your Honeymoon and received a free upgrade to a 1 Bedroom Apartment.

The Apartments are stunning and yes have beautiful views of Lake Wakatipu, The Remarkables and surrounding mountains.

We hope that you return for your first anniversary.

Warm regards
Rowena Richards
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This was one of my favourite places we stayed during our holiday to New Zealand in Jan/Feb 2017. It is expensive. We had four nights here.

It has a great view across lake Wakatipu to the mountains, the Remarkables. This was summer but I believe the skiing in winter is pretty good here in Queenstown. Anyway the apartments are in close walking distance to Queenstown centre which has good shops, cafes, restaurants etc. There is lots to do here, something for everyone. A good place from which to explore the Otago vineyards and surrounding area day drives.

The apartment we had was spacious with a lounge area and a balcony. But is on the main road into town which is busy but with the door shut the traffic noise is not a problem. The bedroom and ensuite was separate up a few stairs. Modern and well maintained. Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: The apartments are all self contained.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cyberlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review “cyberlion”. We are rapt to read that Pounamu Apartments was one of your favourite places to stay while visiting New Zealand. We are very proud of 5 Star Premier Apartments and the superior facilities on offer and the views a drop dead gorgeous!

Winter is just as pretty with 3 fantastic Ski Fields (Coronet, Remarkables, Cardrona)! It’s hard to beat the underfloor heating, air conditioning and the gas fire in each of the Apartments. What better way to spend the evening watching the amazing sunsets over The Remarkables and Lake Wakatipu from your Apartment. And SnoPro is certainly the way to go when you are skiing for more than a couple of days. Fantastic service and delivered to your Apartment!

If you get the opportunity to return, check out our website for special offers. When booking direct on our website with Pounamu we offer you the choice between up and down stairs (depending on availability) and if booking for 2 or more nights in a 1 or 2 Bedroom Apartment you will receive a beautiful bottle of perfume.

Warm regards
Rowena Richards
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Very well equipped apartment with all facilities and a wonderful view. Reception staff very friendly and helpful and happy to book any of the many trips (boats, wine tours etc) available in Queenstown.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ahaste_236283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear ahaste_236283

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travellers. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Pounamu.

We are all about creating "treasured lifetime memories". With our local knowledge and having experienced many of the trips and activities (including eating out at all the best restaurants) we can organise a full itinerary to capture all the best places to enjoy – not to mention the Specials we are able to offer to our Guests.

We would love you to stay with us again .. and when you do, as a returning guest, book direct with us to receive our loyalty special offer.

Warm regards
Rowena Richards
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a studio at Pounamu. The studio is essentially like a nice hotel room. The complimentary washer/dryer (shared with the 1 bedroom apartment next door) came in handy several times during our stay. They provide detergent so you don't need to buy your own. The staff at Pounamu was so helpful. They even called in a take-out order for a popular restaurant while we were out on a tour so that dinner would be waiting for us when we returned. (Tip: have Pedro's House of Lamb deliver a lamb shoulder to Pounamu--> it is delicious!)

It was about a 10 minute walk into Queenstown. The walk into town is all flat/downhill. On the return walk, there is one hill (about 2 city blocks long) and then the rest is flat. Pounamu also has an arrangement with Green Cabs to provide flat rate $10 cab rides from downtown Queenstown. You can also get a $38 flat rate cab to the airport from Pounamu. You can pay be credit card at the concierge and then they give you a voucher that you give to the cab driver.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anesthesia2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Anesthesia2011
Thank you for your feedback on our Studio Room – they are are our entry level rooms and are like a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette (no hob). They are perfect for 2 people and for short stays.

Creating the “perfect holiday” with everything from restaurant recommendations to booking one of the many exciting activities here in Queenstown is what we love doing. Green Cabs are perfect for our Guest needs.. great service and great team.. they even do tours!

Keep an eye out on facebook and our website for specials. Once again thank you for your fantastic review. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards
Rowena Richards
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a studio in the main builing. The apartment itself is great. It's huge, we'll appointed, everything is impeccably clean. The building does sit on the main road into town, so the view is fantastic, but there is modest traffic noise. The location is good, quick walk into town. One note I would make is that each walk up entrance serves two apartment doors. This was not clear to me when we checked in, and no one mentioned it. Admididly I should have noticed. But it made for a very awkward and tense encounter when we returned home late one evening to find a whole group of Chinese men standing in "our" stair way door smoking. We got it figured out fine in the end but could have had more warning from the office that we had neighbors in [very] close proximity.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pounamumarketing, Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback Sammy P. Our sincere apologies for not alerting you to the fact that your lobby is the entrance to your room and the 1 Bedroom Apartment.

We offer 3 products (2BRM, 1BRM and Studio Room). The layout of our Apartments has the added advantage of only having two rooms off a short entrance whereas other complexes and Hotels can have many rooms coming off corridors which greatly increases the chance of disturbance from other Guests.

Our sincere apologies that your neighbouring Guests were smoking on the stairs. We do ask our Guests to use the designated area, however the only way we can address these issues is when our Guests contact Reception. With Management residing on site, we prefer to be alerted as soon as there is an issue so we can rectify immediately.

We would love to see you return one day soon. Join us in the Autumn when Queenstown is a glow of golden colours.

Warm regards
Rowena Richards
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews