We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine service and food”
Review of Harbourside Grill

Harbourside Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #79 of 378 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Description: Dunedin’s CBD waterfront restaurant, minutes from the city centre. Brunch & lunch, dinner, coffee & scones, functions, group celebrations, weddings. Fantastic views, a warm maritime, industrial feel and fresh produce prepared with care. We are open from 10am Tuesday to Sunday. We are closed all day Monday, unless by prior arrangement. Our menu is strong on fish & shellfish, meat & plant based options including both vegetarian & vegan offers. We source fresh produce and proteins as close to home as possible. Give us a call for function enquiries. We have great spaces for that perfect function and heaps of food and beverage choices, often with no venue charge or minimum bar spend.
Restaurant details
Description: Dunedin’s CBD waterfront restaurant, minutes from the city centre. Brunch & lunch, dinner, coffee & scones, functions, group celebrations, weddings. Fantastic views, a warm maritime, industrial feel and fresh produce prepared with care. We are open from 10am Tuesday to Sunday. We are closed all day Monday, unless by prior arrangement. Our menu is strong on fish & shellfish, meat & plant based options including both vegetarian & vegan offers. We source fresh produce and proteins as close to home as possible. Give us a call for function enquiries. We have great spaces for that perfect function and heaps of food and beverage choices, often with no venue charge or minimum bar spend.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A restaurant with heaps of style and charm, and a harbour backdrop. Lovely menu selection and attentive, personable waitstaff.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank U4762HSsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely Saturday lunch catch up with my friends (5 people). 3 of them were at Harbourside for the first time. They were really impressed by the quality of food and selection of options on the menu. Service was immaculate as always. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank KatyaF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a very cold evening. I haven't been to Harbourside Grill for quite a long time since I was disappointed on my last visit. . But this time my friends and I had a lovely evening. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious. I will certainly go again soon.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anthony19482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Our waiter Mathew provided excellent customer service and had great knowledge of the menu. He managed the covid safety competently and his friendly nature made out night. It had a cosy atmosphere with good music. Food exceeded my expectations, thank you to the chefs that did a superb job making our meals. I would definitely reccomend this place!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Le1ghton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2021

The restaurant dresses itself up as fine dining but the food is fairly average, and so expensive. The atmosphere and staff where nice but overall a pretty disappointing experience.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank aaron351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew F, General Manager at Harbourside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Hi Aaron, sorry to hear that you weren't happy. We have never tried to make out that we are fine dining. We do, however, try to provide a relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and good food. We do ask that if we fall short of your expectation that you let us know there and then so we can do something about it. You can see by the many 4 and 5 stary reviews that you experience was an exception to the usual and for that I can only apologise! We hope that you will consider coming back and giving us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbourside Grill also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Harbourside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.