We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow”

Luna Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 410 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great food, but the service (whilst polite) was very slow. We were upstairs for a function and not checked on once by the waitstaff, who remained downstairs. Food took almost an hour to arrive (we were a party of 8).

I cannot fault the food but the wait for it is hefty, and service is rather poor for the standard of the restaurant. A disappointing experience in Luna as their food is fantastic.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank musica209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Stunning views and layout. Simple, elegant and classy. It's a good place for a quick bite, snack, or just a casual meet up. Lunches I've heard are fairly decent, though I didn't get to try them and just had some fries on my visit. Great attentive staff too!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Carlo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

I have been to Luna twice, and won't be going again. The first time my partner and I were one of two parties (the other already eating) in the restaurant for brunch and our meal took over 45 minutes and we received no communication from any staff.
The second meal was a function with a set menu and it was excruciating. The staff took our orders for both courses when we had all arrived but we still waited half an hour between plates being cleared and dessert being served, with no contact. We were limited to about five options on the set menu but then not everything was available, and what was available was almost funny (with tomatoes and olives meant half a cherry tomato and one olive on every second plate). What we received was good but definitely not worth the cost. Our meal took three hours from start to finish with an hour before the first course; the conversation for the latter half of the meal was around when we'd receive our dessert and when we did receive it one of the servers was clearly unhappy to be there (the other was lovely).
The food is overpriced by good, the delay in receiving food on two separate occasions is inexcusable.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nzkw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Called in here with a colleague after work for a couple of beers. Ended up staying for dinner and glad we did. Service was excellent even though it was busy and food excellent too. Highly recommended. Small place so recommend booking.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank PaulS13171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Excellent food!! Polite and cheerful staff who went out of their way to please us!!
Child friendly, and great menu.......middle of the road prices, not overpriced at all.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elworthy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luna Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Luna Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing