We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cook'n' With Gas hosted a special event of fantastic food with Wild Earth Wines and Kitchen from Central Otago”
Review of Cook'n' With Gas

Cook'n' With Gas
Ranked #48 of 1,201 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Cook'n' With Gas held a special event of food and wine pairings with Wild Earth Wines. What a partnership to offer Cantabrians a tasting experience of Otago food and wines. It was a night we will not soon forget. The food offerings included Central Otago rabbit; the best Pork BBQ ribs we've had in NZ; Cardrona merino lamb shoulder with tomato concasse and Jerusalem artichokes; Wagyu brisket with black beans; Fiordland venison cheeks with Kamara puree; and Akaroa smoked salmon with lentil and fennel salad. The Astro Lounge was the perfect venue for showcasing the wine barrel stoker used for cooking. The host and servers were very attentive to their guests with generous food portions and well matched wine offerings. Although the food was for the special event, the restaurant has a unique menu, worth going back to sample.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank training1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

59 - 63 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

For my boyfriend's graduation, we booked a table for the family.

As we had arrived a little early, the kind waiter suggested we have a few drinks out the back until our table was ready.

To our delight, some ambient live music was playing and the place was absolutely thriving with gas heaters keeping us toasty! We sipped on some divine cocktails made by a sadistically awesome bartender before our waiter returned and took us through to the front of house.

Once we were seated, the fun really took flight!

Gitty, our host for the evening, had us in stitches of laughter with his dry humour and beyond tentative attitude.

We shared a deep fried camembert starter with fresh bread and mussels. I am personally not one to enjoy mussels but these were definitely worth the try!

We laughed our way to mains in which I enjoyed a mouth-watering duck dish washed down with an excellently recommended spicy red wine from Gitty.

Overall experience; Exceptional service, relaxed family dining and by far, the best food to be served in Christchurch! Since this occasion, Cook N with Gas has become number one on our dining radar and the Astro Lounge the place to be for casual yet delicious nights out on the weekend!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scarlett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We have been here a few times before and looked forward to going back. We were surprised to be able to walk in as "chance" guests on a Friday evening without a reservation and get a table. The quality of the welcome was good - we were shown to a good table and shown the extensive wine list. We went for a very good Martinborough Pinot Noir, although there are many other good and interesting wines on this list. Good menu was good - a choice of table d'hote (3 courses) or a la carte. We seldcted from the a la carte menu. I had the chicken liver parfait and the salmon, both of which were excellent. Presentation, freshness and quality were good. The only aspect where we felt things had gone downhill was the service - not that the service wasn't good, but it just wasn't as sophisticated of at the same level we had experienced here in the past. The service standard doesn't match the food - if it did this would be perfect. Recommended.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

On our first night here our guide suggested this venue. What a find! Food was great service by our waiter, Greg even better. We chose ala carte rather than 3 courses. Beef, lamb and vegetable plate all great.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Freedom89045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Arrived on time at 19:30 from The Astro Lounge attached to the restaurant.

We were seated soon after and offered still or sparkling water. The water arrived and at 19:50 we were asked if we'd like a drink before dinner. We ordered these and a bottle of wine. The pre dinner drinks arrived and then nothing. At 20:10 I asked if we could see a menu. I think (but can't be sure - waiting always seems longer than it actually is) our entrees arrived about 20:30 after a 'treat' from the kitchen.

Our mains of entrees of Chicken Liver Parfait, Mussels and Mushroom and Tomato Tart were delicious. Being allergic to tarragon it wasn't a problem for the chef to prepare my tart 'sans tarragon'. That was appreciated.

Two diners enjoyed the Wild Venison a la Gas (cooked to perfection), one Baked Breast of Chicken and the other Pressed Belly of Pork. Clean plates again! The food was delicious and plentiful - no side dishes were needed.

It is such a shame that the service was so hit and miss and unprofessional. No sooner had one wait person asked "How are your meals?" the other came over and asked the same question. We weren't offered another bottle of wine. We passed on desserts.

This is a classy restaurant offering fantastic food in a lovely setting. What a pity that staffing appeared to be done 'on the smell of an oily rag', With so much choice in Christchurch I won't return, simply because of the waiting and poor service.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrizBee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corker9, Owner at Cook'n' With Gas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you ChrizBee59 for taking the time to write a review, We are pleased you enjoyed our food at Cook n With Gas and your pre dinner drinks and entertainment in the Astro lounge.
We appreciate that you have dined with us many times over the years and that you have now provided us with feed back via Trip Adviser. Yes we were slightly under the hammer that evening with a couple of our floor staff being unwell to work at the last minute, which left us with just two floor staff to manage the restaurant. However we were committed, to our already booked guests.
We do always endeavor to provide excellent food and service, and we are saddened that you felt your expectations were not met on this occasion. All we can do is apologize, and offer you a voucher, for you to do with as you see fit, regardless of your intention to return or not ( please private message us ). As well remember, the excellent service and food you have received from us in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cook'n' With Gas also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region

Been to Cook'n' With Gas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing