We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellentl”
Review of Cook'n' With Gas

Cook'n' With Gas
Ranked #46 of 1,143 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
45
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

On our first night here our guide suggested this venue. What a find! Food was great service by our waiter, Greg even better. We chose ala carte rather than 3 courses. Beef, lamb and vegetable plate all great.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

Arrived on time at 19:30 from The Astro Lounge attached to the restaurant.

We were seated soon after and offered still or sparkling water. The water arrived and at 19:50 we were asked if we'd like a drink before dinner. We ordered these and a bottle of wine. The pre dinner drinks arrived and then nothing. At 20:10 I asked if we could see a menu. I think (but can't be sure - waiting always seems longer than it actually is) our entrees arrived about 20:30 after a 'treat' from the kitchen.

Our mains of entrees of Chicken Liver Parfait, Mussels and Mushroom and Tomato Tart were delicious. Being allergic to tarragon it wasn't a problem for the chef to prepare my tart 'sans tarragon'. That was appreciated.

Two diners enjoyed the Wild Venison a la Gas (cooked to perfection), one Baked Breast of Chicken and the other Pressed Belly of Pork. Clean plates again! The food was delicious and plentiful - no side dishes were needed.

It is such a shame that the service was so hit and miss and unprofessional. No sooner had one wait person asked "How are your meals?" the other came over and asked the same question. We weren't offered another bottle of wine. We passed on desserts.

This is a classy restaurant offering fantastic food in a lovely setting. What a pity that staffing appeared to be done 'on the smell of an oily rag', With so much choice in Christchurch I won't return, simply because of the waiting and poor service.
.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrizBee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corker9, Owner at Cook'n' With Gas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you ChrizBee59 for taking the time to write a review, We are pleased you enjoyed our food at Cook n With Gas and your pre dinner drinks and entertainment in the Astro lounge.
We appreciate that you have dined with us many times over the years and that you have now provided us with feed back via Trip Adviser. Yes we were slightly under the hammer that evening with a couple of our floor staff being unwell to work at the last minute, which left us with just two floor staff to manage the restaurant. However we were committed, to our already booked guests.
We do always endeavor to provide excellent food and service, and we are saddened that you felt your expectations were not met on this occasion. All we can do is apologize, and offer you a voucher, for you to do with as you see fit, regardless of your intention to return or not ( please private message us ). As well remember, the excellent service and food you have received from us in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Not the cheapest, especially drinks, but cosy environment and good quality food. We had to wait 2 hours 18 mins for our meal (and none of us had entres). I consider this totally unacceptable. They did not seem flat out, just disorganised. Kept making promises then breaking them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kennyg576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corker9, Owner at Cook'n' With Gas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you kennyg576 for taking the time to write a review on CWG, Yes some of our drinks aren't cheap, but we do have many other drinks at entry level prices that one could choose from.
Your group of 8 were booked at 6:30 PM this last Wednesday, however you have neglected to mention in your review that half your party were an hour late for this booking? Your order was taken at 7:40 PM although you had said that you were still waiting for another person to arrive, who never actually turned up.
Our other guests that evening who had booked in after you and were on time, had started to turn up by that stage and of course wanted to order and so your tables order went in after these tables.
One of your party had ordered a Medium to Well done Sirloin, which does take time to cook and rest. However in the mean time you did received Mixed Breads, Flatbreads and Olives as well as our complementary appetizers from the kitchen.
Your mains were served by 8:20 PM and we are pleased that you all enjoyed them as well as the ambiance and warmth of our blue dining room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Every time I come home to NZ Cook’n’ with Gas is on my radar screen. Situated opposite the Court Theatre just down from the Museum on Worcester Boulevard. You can’t miss it, with the gas flame roaring away in front outside. This cozy little historic villa is a gem of a restaurant producing some of the best fine dining cuisine Christchurch has to offer.

When entering this delightful villa, you will be greeted with one of the most knowledgeable wait staffs in the industry, you will be guided through their delicious menu of meals & divine desserts while you soak up the ambiance.

If you are a meat lover, try the Canterbury Lamb which has always been a winner for me. It’s mouthwatering, succulent carvings are of the finest lamb cuts of meat you will find in Canterbury paraded straight to your table. For the ocean lover, Cook’n’ with Gas supplies the freshest of fresh market seafood such as their gold medal steamed and glazed mussels or the locally caught Akaroa Salmon grilled to perfection. For desert, if you are a Crepes lover, your night wouldn’t be complete if you left without trying the best of Crepes dishes you will find anywhere in Christchurch. Plenty of options for the non-alcoholic drinks, otherwise they have a huge selection of locally crafted beers and wines to suit everyone’s palate.

Overall, for myself this restaurant is a one of a kind in every aspect, that offers a wide variety of fresh seafood and a good variety of different meat cuts cooked to perfection, the deserts are second to none and your palate & party are sure to be impressed along with the themed décor, friendly, knowledgeable wait staff. Not forgetting of course, it’s perfect setting within the beautiful Worcester Boulevard.

Over the years the reviews have been second to none, Cook’n’ with Gas frequently receives solid ratings and great reviews. From a long term customer recently returning from overseas, I couldn’t agree more. I would say only the best of the best chefs would end up in this kitchen and lastly, for those who are wanting to impress, it’s definitely “date-worthy”

Warwick Rose

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 29rosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner at Cookin' with Gas during our stay in Christchurch. We had the duck and the venison mains, which were both delicious. The staff were friendly and happy to chat. Dinner was topped off with a delicious local NZ beer and wine, the meal was so good, we will definitely be back the next time we are in Christchurch.

Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cook'n' With Gas also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cook'n' With Gas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing