We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
377
518
145
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
518
145
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square accor member central location hand basin per day new zealand regent street good size the heart of the city comfortable hotel buffet breakfast restart mall free internet one night stay south island comfy bed botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Room was very dated and in serious need of renovation. Room rate overinfalte for the age of rooms. We asked for 4 towels but only go thes on one of the days we stayed. Parking was expensive at $35 per night. No free internet. Wouldnt stay here again when there are far superior hotels neaby that are less expensive with cheaper parking, free internet and professional hotel staff. Pick up your game Novotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here. Location is good but better hotels nearby.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Surpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Surpha

I'm really sorry you felt our hotel was dated. You feedback contradicts some of the other recent comments on tripadvisor we have received regarding our rooms but we understand this come down to a personal preference so we appreciate your opinion

Our valet is $35 for underground secure parking but our guests have the option of self parking next door at the Wilson park for as little as $8 per day.

Just so you know for next time we do offer free wifi for our members. You can sign up instantly at any accor hotel and it doesn’t cost a cent. This is the same standard set across all accor hotels in Australian and New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This is a great hotel near the center of town, and the restaurant has an excellent buffet breakfast, as well as a wonderful salmon dinner. The staff at the front are very helpful and attentive. The hotel is very modern, but my room that had a king bed was very strangely engineered, with almost no space for me to unpack. The bathroom was very modern in addition, but the shower bathtub had only 1/2 of a door, so I needed to take my shower very close to the wall and there was a big draft.

Room Tip: I liked my room that faced the front of the hotel
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Hello Jeannie

Thank you very much for your sincere review of your recent stay at our hotel. Hearing we have great staff is the best compliment I can receive as a general manager, thank you and rest assure I will pass the comments along

I appreciate the comments around the room engineering and we will note those for when we start looking at a refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Great spot among the restaurants and cafe's with walking options around the cathedral square. Very nicely set up room with all modern conveniences (USB charging points are my thing). Great staff at the front of the house who knows the best cafe's in the city

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view room
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NASTARS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Hi NASTARS3

Thank you for the fantastic review! We love our location in the heart of the city and are very thankful we can share it with our guests. We have so many great businesses opening in the city center in 2019... its going to be a great year for Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Novotel, visiting friends and exploring Christchurch. The service at the Novotel was very good. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are quite compact. We had are 2 teenage daughters with us and it was a bit tight with all of our luggage. Breakfast was good and the bar staff provided excellent service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank klh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Hello klh75

Thanks for the wonderful response. Feedback such as yours provides all the motivation we need to continue to strive ahead for our customers. Our rooms are a good size but i can imagine that four people would make it seem very cramped!

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We stayed two nights. Free parking outside the hotel, or paid valet under. Checkin was efficient. Upgraded to cathedral view room on checkin. Bed was super comfy, romm size was average, amenenities as expected for a Novotel. Location is exceptional, only a short walk to anywhere in the city centre. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, price and location were excellent.

Room Tip: Join accor, and request a high floor cathedral view when booking.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sparky268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley C, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hi Sparky

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! its great to hear you made the most our our central location and walked around our amazing city. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews