We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathern Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I booked here due to reading the reviews, so I feel I was let down. I found the Shower hadnt been cleaned properly, which ruined totally my weekendbefore it started and the fridge didnt seem to be working properly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browne_nzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molloyfamily, Owner at Strathern Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

We acknowledge that occasionally small things slip through the system as everyone is human. Our standard of cleanliness is normally exceptionally high and we pride ourselves on this. In this case, as explained to the guest, we had been out of town for a few days at a funeral and not been in a position to check the units and unfortunately our motel minder had not checked the units. There were a couple of hairs left in the shower, which if the guest had pointed this out at the time, we certainly would have rectified. Our fridges are turned off and cleaned at each departure and in this case our cleaner forgot to turn it back on. Again, instead of waiting and complaining at the end we could have gone in and turned it on for her. The issues with this unit were discussed with the cleaner and she was given a verbal warning as we take every complaint very seriously. We apologised to the guest on departure but there is not much you can do after the fact. The situation regarding the cleaning will certainly not be repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Owners are so friendly and helpful, directed us to all the great places to dine and sightsee nothing was too much to ask. Services all conveniently located on site. Transport just out on the sidewalk, so handy to all amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed here after the earthquake and we needed a place to stay temporarily while we waited for our house to be inspected. Really accomodating hosts, very understanding and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms we stayed in were clean and serviced daily, location close to town and what's great it's pet friendly. Good place o stay!, recommend it.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Lotogunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The no refund policy will also apply to anyone not happy with the service or quality of the stay.The location being situated right next door to student accomodation can make for a very loud stay, if you like the sound of the walls bouncing base then perfect for you. Reception is not available after 10.30pm so any problems are yours for the night and once approach regarding any issues the staff may be quite unhelpfull. Oh well we stuck here for 3 more days now :-(

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I stayed here with my family in July and found it to be perfect for a family, the units are quite large and although a bit dated everything was clean and comfortable. The owners are really friendly they even got our washing in one day when it started to rain! The first thai restaurant just down the road (the blue one) is also great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyadventuresoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.1 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
138 reviews
1.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
1.7 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
419 reviews
1.6 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathern Motor Lodge

Address: 54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: €74 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathern Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Lauraine & Craig take great pride in providing a high standard of comfort and cleanliness and invite you to stay at their Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation in their luxurious, fully self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Their top quality Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation is quiet, warm and features extremely comfortable Queen, King or superking beds. Our central location enables guests to walk to parks,golf courses, restaurants , supermarkets and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strathern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing