We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views!”

Christchurch Gondola
Ranked #19 of 260 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The Christchurch Gondola is a definite must! The gondola itself is safe and the employees there really help you feel comfortable. Once you get to the top, you begin to see the amazing views of the mountains/lake and it's really absolutely stunning. I was also impressed with the gift shop as they have a lot of things to look at and for decent prices. This is definitely something I didn't regret doing, and would do all over again!

Thank ymyshkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review and in recommending the Christchurch Gondola as a "definitly must do" attraction! Tasha :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 103 reviews
"great views from the top"
in 22 reviews
"tunnel experience"
in 20 reviews
"lyttleton harbour"
in 40 reviews
"degree view"
in 18 reviews
"cable car"
in 21 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 37 reviews
"bridle path"
in 27 reviews
"port hills"
in 51 reviews
"annual pass"
in 24 reviews
"southern alps"
in 58 reviews
"great ride"
in 20 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 26 reviews
"well worth the trip"
in 18 reviews
"banks peninsula"
in 44 reviews
"sunny day"
in 39 reviews
"canterbury museum"
in 26 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2018

Chips & wedges at the Cafe are the best. Cup of tea great also. Such a great place to visit. I now have an annual pass so I can go up when ever it is nice weather, Look out for the Swallows nesting under the buildings too.

Thank Lizzy148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review. Having an Annual Pass is well worth it and we are sure we will see you again to enjoy some more chips and wedges! Tasha :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Spectacular view from top of the gondola. The time tunnel experience is amazing. It takes you to the historical experience of the region. Pretty good experience for a family. Enjoyed thoroughly.

Thank narsingani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Sounds like you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your Christchurch Gondola experience! Tasha :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our ride up the gondola. Had a very nice lunch. Very interesting articles of original history regarding Tasman & Cook discoveries.

Thank AbodeTararua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We took the Gondola Shuttle Bus from outside the Christchurch Museum ($10 return) for the 15-minute ride to the Gondola ($28 for an adult). Each cabin holds 4 people but as they were so quiet when we went, everyone seemed to have a cabin to themselves. As is always the case now, it seems, someone takes your picture when you get into the cabin, and then someone accosts you when you get back to try to sell you the photo at an extortionate cost ... no thank you.

The views from the top are excellent, and you can see for many, many kilometres on a clear day. Remember to take binoculars with you if you have them. You can do a walk around the crater rim, which could be a tough walk for anyone who has difficulties with their mobility. There are a lot of steps and the paths are rocky and not level.

We took a packed lunch up with us but there is a restaurant there, plus a shop. I can't really comment on either as we didn't eat or browse the shop.

Thank RetiredBritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Gondola also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing