We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sightseeing”

Christchurch Gondola
Ranked #19 of 260 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our ride up the gondola. Had a very nice lunch. Very interesting articles of original history regarding Tasman & Cook discoveries.

Thank AbodeTararua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 106 reviews
"tunnel experience"
in 22 reviews
"great views from the top"
in 22 reviews
"lyttleton harbour"
in 42 reviews
"degree view"
in 18 reviews
"cable car"
in 22 reviews
"bridle path"
in 27 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 36 reviews
"port hills"
in 52 reviews
"southern alps"
in 59 reviews
"annual pass"
in 24 reviews
"great ride"
in 19 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 25 reviews
"well worth the trip"
in 17 reviews
"banks peninsula"
in 45 reviews
"sunny day"
in 39 reviews
"canterbury museum"
in 26 reviews
Filter

114 - 118 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2018

We took the Gondola Shuttle Bus from outside the Christchurch Museum ($10 return) for the 15-minute ride to the Gondola ($28 for an adult). Each cabin holds 4 people but as they were so quiet when we went, everyone seemed to have a cabin to themselves. As is always the case now, it seems, someone takes your picture when you get into the cabin, and then someone accosts you when you get back to try to sell you the photo at an extortionate cost ... no thank you.

The views from the top are excellent, and you can see for many, many kilometres on a clear day. Remember to take binoculars with you if you have them. You can do a walk around the crater rim, which could be a tough walk for anyone who has difficulties with their mobility. There are a lot of steps and the paths are rocky and not level.

We took a packed lunch up with us but there is a restaurant there, plus a shop. I can't really comment on either as we didn't eat or browse the shop.

Thank RetiredBritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Great trip on a clear day. Great cafe on site. Well worth the trip up and even better skip the ride and walk down

Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic views from the summit. Tasha :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Loved the Gondola ride, it was an overcast day but the gondola was still fun. The staff at the cafe were very uninspired and quite unfriendly which soured the day a little. Will try again on our next visit for better views

Thank N0Kitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thanks for the feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your visit but disappointed that the service was not up to our normal high standards. Please acept our apologies for this and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Yes the views looking over Christchurch, crossing the patchwork fields of the Canterbury Plains, to the jagged Southern Alps mountains tall and grand in the distance, are totally awesome!
AND then keep looking around you and there's the sweep of Lyttelton Harbour and beyond and it's all 360' totally awesome!

The gondola takes you up to the top of the Port Hills which is actually the rim of extinct volcano which enables you have complete surround views of all that there is to see!

I thoroughly enjoyed the geology history lesson on THE TIME TUNNEL animation ride. This is inclusive of the ticket to ride the gondola.

Along with the views is the pleasant Red Rock Café. The lunch menu was good as was the brew - a good coffee.

All in all - a place to spend a relaxing time enjoying the views and enjoying the whole of the experience of soaring above Christchurch.
I'll be back!

Thank gunnfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for your great feedback. Sounds like you enjoyed a good coffee relaxing, while taking in our awesome 360 degree views of Christchurch and surrounding areas! See you agian soon! Tasha :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Gondola also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing