We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Christchurch
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arrival the welcome was friendly efficient and quick we valet parked the car for 20 dollars well worth it for less stress, you can park.much cheaper in streets or car park nearby if you wish
Our room was duplex two beds two bath and was clean and had everything you needed
The bed was like sleeping on a cloud
Used the washing machine and tumble drier which was great washing powder provided !
Usual tea coffee iron bathrobes and lovely spa toiletries
The building is old with great character and the entrance at night has two big torchbearers burning in front of the steps with tables either side for the bar so atmospheric
If you like big corporate hotels don't stay here if you want character history and lovely quirky old features then it is the best hotel in Christchurch
The location is also very good for strolling around the city which pre earthquake must have been lovely slightly sadder now
You must go see for yourself you won't be disappointed
Thank you for the fudge !
In the morning when our car was returned it had two bottles of cold water in for our journey nice touch

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walkerpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear walkerpayne,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed our fully equipped Suites! The Old Government Building that houses Heritage Christchurch enjoys a very central location, and we are glad that you found it very good.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as we were looking for a centrally-located hotel, handy for city centre activities and near the bus interchange.
The hotel itself is superb and our room was very well-appointed. We took advantage of the hotel's small swimming pool and jacuzzi to help us get over our jet-lag following arrival from the UK.
The hotel's rooms have no view to speak of - a car park on one side and a street on the other - but we were not really bothered by any exterior noises. We both slept very well in our upstairs mezzanine, the bed being very comfortable indeed.
Complimentary tea/coffee was provided; other items were available at cost from a minibar. I have a strong aversion to hotel minibars, so I cannot comment on the value or otherwise of it, but the tea & coffee was of good quality and regularly replenished throughout our stay.

The one niggle that spoiled our stay - which would otherwide have been all 5-stars - was a total lack of clarity regarding the breakfasts. I was told different stories as to whether they were included or not, both before travelling and after checking-in. Eventually it transpired that they were extra, but this marred an otherwise flawless service delivery from what is undoubtedly a very fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mekydro,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our Hotel's location superb, and found our facilities and room well-appointed. We do apologise for any confusion regarding breakfasts, and will make sure to follow up with our front line staff - once again, sincere apologies for the lack of clarity!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's an historical hotel in mid-town. Perfect location. Up to date. About ten restaurants within walking distance. Nice pub in front. Rooms have a kitchen and essentials, but the grocery is a 15 minute walk. Friendly staff. Ideal for week-long stays.

Room Tip: Washer in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pepsionice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear pepsionice,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our Hotel's location perfect, and found our staff friendly. Heritage Christchurch is indeed right in the heart of the city, and our friendly porters will always be happy to provide you with information on where to go and what to do, should you require any suggestions.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We give this property five stars: The rooms are spacious and equipped with personal laundries and kitchens, the staff is well-trained and helpful, the location is the best in the city and the bell services are second to none. Once again, our American Express reservation provided us with an upgraded room, which far exceeded our expectations in a city that has suffered through significant earthquake damage. The architecture of this converted government building is spectacular, including the stain glass windows in the grand stairway and the larger than life halls and public spaces. Some rooms face the Christ Church, but its damaged exterior is a sad reminder of the work left to do to rebuild this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Facing the Christ Church and on second or third floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms spacious and well equipped; we are also delighted that you liked the central location, and had a great service from our staff!

The Old Government Building that houses Heritage Christchurch is a Category 1 Historic Places Trust building, and is indeed a very beautiful building.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Heritage (Christchurch). All I can say is 'WOW"!!! The building is amazing! The room was supberb! Staff was the best I've ever dealt with. After a long two days of travelling for business. Staying here was just a pleasure. I will recommend this place always for anyone staying in Christchurch. I've previously stayed in a few other hotels in this city, but none that has come close to Heritage standard. This will be my go to hotel from now on. Loved it.

Room Tip: Beautiful draped curtains, high ceilings with lovely designs. Feels like where royalty would stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lr792017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ir792017,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our fully equipped split-level suites superb, and appreciated the beauty of the The Old Government Building that houses Heritage Christchurch. We would be delighted to welcome you back!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,024 reviews
1 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,408 reviews
2.2 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
2.1 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
0.5 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Christchurch

Address: 28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: €155 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing