We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
436
230
87
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
230
87
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square mezzanine floor government buildings beautiful old building health club beautiful hotel full kitchen washer dryer bedroom and bathroom new zealand huge room loved this hotel the heart of the city central location regent street living area excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We stayed here as we were looking for a centrally-located hotel, handy for city centre activities and near the bus interchange.
The hotel itself is superb and our room was very well-appointed. We took advantage of the hotel's small swimming pool and jacuzzi to help us get over our jet-lag following arrival from the UK.
The hotel's rooms have no view to speak of - a car park on one side and a street on the other - but we were not really bothered by any exterior noises. We both slept very well in our upstairs mezzanine, the bed being very comfortable indeed.
Complimentary tea/coffee was provided; other items were available at cost from a minibar. I have a strong aversion to hotel minibars, so I cannot comment on the value or otherwise of it, but the tea & coffee was of good quality and regularly replenished throughout our stay.

The one niggle that spoiled our stay - which would otherwide have been all 5-stars - was a total lack of clarity regarding the breakfasts. I was told different stories as to whether they were included or not, both before travelling and after checking-in. Eventually it transpired that they were extra, but this marred an otherwise flawless service delivery from what is undoubtedly a very fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear mekydro,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our Hotel's location superb, and found our facilities and room well-appointed. We do apologise for any confusion regarding breakfasts, and will make sure to follow up with our front line staff - once again, sincere apologies for the lack of clarity!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

It's an historical hotel in mid-town. Perfect location. Up to date. About ten restaurants within walking distance. Nice pub in front. Rooms have a kitchen and essentials, but the grocery is a 15 minute walk. Friendly staff. Ideal for week-long stays.

Room Tip: Washer in each room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pepsionice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear pepsionice,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our Hotel's location perfect, and found our staff friendly. Heritage Christchurch is indeed right in the heart of the city, and our friendly porters will always be happy to provide you with information on where to go and what to do, should you require any suggestions.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We give this property five stars: The rooms are spacious and equipped with personal laundries and kitchens, the staff is well-trained and helpful, the location is the best in the city and the bell services are second to none. Once again, our American Express reservation provided us with an upgraded room, which far exceeded our expectations in a city that has suffered through significant earthquake damage. The architecture of this converted government building is spectacular, including the stain glass windows in the grand stairway and the larger than life halls and public spaces. Some rooms face the Christ Church, but its damaged exterior is a sad reminder of the work left to do to rebuild this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Facing the Christ Church and on second or third floors
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms spacious and well equipped; we are also delighted that you liked the central location, and had a great service from our staff!

The Old Government Building that houses Heritage Christchurch is a Category 1 Historic Places Trust building, and is indeed a very beautiful building.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Stayed at the Heritage (Christchurch). All I can say is 'WOW"!!! The building is amazing! The room was supberb! Staff was the best I've ever dealt with. After a long two days of travelling for business. Staying here was just a pleasure. I will recommend this place always for anyone staying in Christchurch. I've previously stayed in a few other hotels in this city, but none that has come close to Heritage standard. This will be my go to hotel from now on. Loved it.

Room Tip: Beautiful draped curtains, high ceilings with lovely designs. Feels like where royalty would stay.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lr792017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Ir792017,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our fully equipped split-level suites superb, and appreciated the beauty of the The Old Government Building that houses Heritage Christchurch. We would be delighted to welcome you back!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Good central location, two bedroom suite was nice but only one ensuite and the second bathroom was downstairs, need blow dryers in both bathrooms. The breakfast room was understaffed, the one employee working in the morning was great. The staff was wonderful including the wait staff at the bar and Adrian Blood at the front desk who went out of his way to help us with reservations and advise regarding the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Terri55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Terri55w,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are pleased you found our staff, especially Adrian Blood, our Duty Manager, wonderful and helpful. We will follow up on the blow dryers as all rooms indeed have one in each bathroom in a cupboard, and do apologise for the inconvenience lack of blow dryer may have caused you.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards,
Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews