We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,311)
Filter reviews
1,311 results
Traveller rating
421
512
271
76
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
512
271
76
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park city centre botanical gardens new zealand lovely hotel beautiful park duty manager lovely garden bit dated buffet breakfast hotel restaurant reception area very pleasant stay free shuttle room was spacious stayed here for one night south island
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,311 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We chose to stay here as we we taking the TranzAlpine Train. The hotel is near Addington Railway Station where you jon the TranzAlpine and offers a free shuttle at 7:30 am to the station. The hotel is excellent. The staff are so customer service friendly. The hotel restaurant is really good. We did 2 dinners and 1 breakfast buffet and the food was great. If you enjoy a rack of lamb, you must have it here. Also the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the city twice in the morning and a return twice in the afternoon. You can walk back to the hotel. If you want to walk back, ask the driver for directions.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

I stayed here while in Christchurch on business. Very reasonably priced and rooms are modern, well appointed, and spacious. Also in a lovely garden setting and located right near Hagley Park for anyone who wants an early morning walk or run before walk. Free car parking which is great! Internet speed was really good (and was complimentary). Breakfast buffet had great selection. Certainly not an inner city hotel, but close enough that it is still convenient. Highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

I wouldn’t stay anywhere else. The gardens are simply spectacular. Lush, varied, and serene. The perfect backdrop for any trip or occasion. This is truly a hidden gem! If you’re coming to the Garden City, immerse yourself in this beautiful setting. Let it inspire you, rejuvenate you! Sorry, I just can’t say enough how beautiful the gardens were! You must have a truly talented garden staff. Kudos to your head gardener!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Seventies building, Exquisitely kept gardens, enjoyed view from dining room into spring tulips, poppies and many other flowers in September. Rooms Ok, smelt a little of mould. Developed a cough, as a result. Room service left all towels and wet facecloths untouched for day and following evening. Most staff very friendly. Sunday waitress seemed to struggle with friendly helpful service. Saturday am had excellent waitress/floor manager. Food overcooked in steamers. Concept of lightly scrambled eggs a struggle but eventually arrived and were perfect.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SueF2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

I booked myself and my mother in for a weekend stay to visit family. We booked an accessibility room as my mother has some issues. My only comment here is that the accessibility rooms are all at the furthest points from the lifts - which doesn't make sense. However the hotel supplied a wheelchair which made the walk between the room and reception much easier. The hotel is located within a gorgeous garden, right across from Hagley Park, quiet and restful. As my mother wasn't feeling up to a big day out, I left her at the hotel for some rest. When I returned, she had a story to tell. She had been sitting on the bed, putting her shoes on, when she found herself sliding down the side of the bed onto the floor. Unfortunately, trying to use the bed to get herself up didn't work, as the bed slid across the carpet. Unhurt, but unable to get up, she called reception and within minutes, two staff were present to help her. I will always be eternally grateful to them. Mum said they were just kindness personified. Amazing staff are like gold, and the staff at this hotel were, without exception, incredible. You can forgive an older hotel (yet still very comfortable) for not having some of the modern conveniences of newer properties, when they have such fantastic staff. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ellemareeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews