We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and walking distance from attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Central Motel Apartments
Ranked #75 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 20 September 2017

These motel apartments were well-situated, just walking distance from downtown Christchurch. We were easily able to travel to dinner, the cathedral rebuilding site, and shopping district. The rooms were nothing to write home about, but they were good value for what we paid - clean and safe. The motel staff was extremely helpful and kind, welcoming us warmly to town.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie21NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Thanks city central motel lovely Apartment nice room and gorgeous living room we going with my family and friends I really enjoy good service I will definitely visit again this apartment thanks for look after as

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank bihariraturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Check-in was easy, and after a long day travelling it was welcomed to be given a Snickers, a small milk, and a packet of crisps (although disappointing that the crisps were stale).

I was only in Christchurch for just over 24 hours, and the bed seemed comfortable enough for one night. In the room the major problem was the heating (or lack thereof). The Central Heating doesn't seem to work at all times (in fact they told me at reception that it only comes on at certain times) however there was a bar heater provided in the room which helped (although connected by a series of extension leads which could be dangerous if you had a child with you or were a bit clumsy).

The bathroom was small and pokey, and whilst it was cold there was a heater in this area as well which worked nicely. I'm not a heavy set guy, but if I was I think I'd probably struggle with the small shower.

If I was coming to Christchurch for a very short period of time (aka one night) I'd probably stay here again however for anything more than a day or so I'm sure there'd be similar options for the same price point.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is basic hotel/motel accommodation, but the room was tidy, comfortable and quiet enough for our 3 day stay, and suited our purposes just fine ... we arrived via a VERY late flight and didn't get to the motel till well past midnight, but we had advised this with our booking, and kudos to the manager as there was someone still awake to give us our key. Big thanks for that! The office staff were also friendly and helpful with directions and advice on getting about. The furniture and fittings are modest, but functional, as was the small kitchenette. The LCD TV wasn't great quality either, with wiring dangling about the place (a bit of a nightmare with kids!) but had 50 Sky & freeview channels available. The weather was chilly when we were there, so we spent all our time at the motel in the room, but the outdoor areas would benefit from some refurbishment. The motel has ample on-site parking and free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marknmeils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickenli, Manager at City Central Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our motel.We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay here. We will keep going to provide better services for all the customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as I was attending a course at LesMills. Not the best place in the world no flannels or milk. Just missing those little touches you expect to see in a motel. Also found a fake nail beside my bed so makes me think not the cleanest of places.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarahroseconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickenli, Manager at City Central Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our motel. We are glad that you like our location. We are currently gradually updating our facilities. And we will keep going to improve our service for all our customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
164 reviews
0.6 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,109 reviews
0.6 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
1.3 km away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
394 reviews
0.1 km away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#9 of 140 in Christchurch
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Motel Apartments

Address: 252 Barbadoes Street | Christchurch Central, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: €73 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Central Motel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 26 stylish, self contained and well appointed quality apartments catering for the corporate traveler, couples and families.City Central Motel Apartments are within 5-7 mins walk of local attractions and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Central Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
City Central Hotel Apartments
City Central Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing