We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
144
117
36
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
117
36
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivaladjoining roomscentral heatingupstairs roomstayed here for one nightsmall kitchenettegood sizewalking distancea great place to staycomfortable bedmotelaccommodationdishwasherheatercathedralchch
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Thanks city central motel lovely Apartment nice room and gorgeous living room we going with my family and friends I really enjoy good service I will definitely visit again this apartment thanks for look after as

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank bihariraturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Check-in was easy, and after a long day travelling it was welcomed to be given a Snickers, a small milk, and a packet of crisps (although disappointing that the crisps were stale).

I was only in Christchurch for just over 24 hours, and the bed seemed comfortable enough for one night. In the room the major problem was the heating (or lack thereof). The Central Heating doesn't seem to work at all times (in fact they told me at reception that it only comes on at certain times) however there was a bar heater provided in the room which helped (although connected by a series of extension leads which could be dangerous if you had a child with you or were a bit clumsy).

The bathroom was small and pokey, and whilst it was cold there was a heater in this area as well which worked nicely. I'm not a heavy set guy, but if I was I think I'd probably struggle with the small shower.

If I was coming to Christchurch for a very short period of time (aka one night) I'd probably stay here again however for anything more than a day or so I'm sure there'd be similar options for the same price point.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is basic hotel/motel accommodation, but the room was tidy, comfortable and quiet enough for our 3 day stay, and suited our purposes just fine ... we arrived via a VERY late flight and didn't get to the motel till well past midnight, but we had advised this with our booking, and kudos to the manager as there was someone still awake to give us our key. Big thanks for that! The office staff were also friendly and helpful with directions and advice on getting about. The furniture and fittings are modest, but functional, as was the small kitchenette. The LCD TV wasn't great quality either, with wiring dangling about the place (a bit of a nightmare with kids!) but had 50 Sky & freeview channels available. The weather was chilly when we were there, so we spent all our time at the motel in the room, but the outdoor areas would benefit from some refurbishment. The motel has ample on-site parking and free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marknmeils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickenli, Manager at City Central Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our motel.We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay here. We will keep going to provide better services for all the customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as I was attending a course at LesMills. Not the best place in the world no flannels or milk. Just missing those little touches you expect to see in a motel. Also found a fake nail beside my bed so makes me think not the cleanest of places.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarahroseconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickenli, Manager at City Central Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our motel. We are glad that you like our location. We are currently gradually updating our facilities. And we will keep going to improve our service for all our customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

When my friends and I arrived after check-in, the kitchen was very filthy and dirty; the floor was stained with food from the previous occupants; we had to call management and have someone thoroughly clean the kitchen otherwise we would not have been able to cook our dinner. The 2 bedroom service-type room was basic necessity with clean towels and bedsheets; bath with good running hot water; and automatic dishwasher. There were complimentary instant coffee and tea, however, we provided our own. City Centre was about 2 kilometers from a Pak-N-Save which provided food provisions. Although City Centre Motel was not fully booked, the management seemed to be quite busy with other matters beside guest relations.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickenli, Manager at City Central Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our motel. Thank you for your suggestions. We are currently updating our facilities. We will keep going to provide better services for all our customers. Yous sincerely, City Central Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews