We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden setting stayed longer cooked breakfast rolleston ann cereal hosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

What a wonderful find!

We started our NZ tour by staying in a B&B in the middle of Christchurch. Our travels were taking us back past Christchurch 10 days later on our way to Marlborough so we identified Cedar Park Gardens as a good place to break our journey. Boy, were we right!

Ann provided a warm welcome when we arrived and Ron did the same when he returned shortly after. As luck would have it, we ended up eating at the same Indian restaurant in Rolleston later that evening and they gave us a lift back.

The room was nicely furnished and a good size. The shower was good and the coffee and tea-making facilities were too.

The gardens are a feature of the house and very much worth a viewing. Ann and Ron have put a lot of effort into the large garden and it certainly shows!

Breakfast was superb. Plenty of fresh fruit and cereals were available and my cooked breakfast of omelette, hash browns and various home-grown tomatoes was delicious. Coffee, tea and toast were equally good.

It’s a shame (for visitors, not Ann & Ron) that it’s so far from the centre of Christchurch but the hosts, the house and the breakfast make up for it.

5 stars from us!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOWER093, Owner at Cedar Park Gardens B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We are so pleased you really did enjoy your stay with us so much. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
We wish you much more safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Quiet, clean and very comfortable rooms in a beautiful garden setting. A warm welcome from the hosts, and a scrumptious breakfast. Easy to drive into the centre of Christchurch but you needn't do that to find a good meal in the evening. Very conveniently located if driving up from the south. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Davo55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOWER093, Owner at Cedar Park Gardens B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We take pleasure in doing all we can to make our guests stay comfortable and enjoyable. It was a pleasure to have you to stay, and we hope you return again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

38 members of Fendalton Garden Club enjoyed their visit to Cedar Park Gardens. Anne provided a lovely ample lunch with a gluten free option. It was raining but we were able to have lunch in her comfortable lounge and family room. There were plenty of seats. When the rain cleared we enjoyed strolling around her large garden. There are a lovely selection of shrubs and perennials, formal hedging and an impressive vegetable garden. Many members bought plants and homemade jams and chutneys. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOWER093, Owner at Cedar Park Gardens B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

It was a pleasure to have your group visit the gardens - a shame the weather couldn't have been kinder. We are pleased you all enjoyed the visit in spite of the weather.
Thank you for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Anne and Ron are superb and gracious hosts, and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious, beautifully prepared and served. Coming from the northern hemisphere, we were delighted to learn about the southern sky from Ron, and made good use of his lessons and the app he told us about when we got to Lake Tekapo. We also enjoyed perusing their books about New Zealand, enhancing our understanding of this beautiful country. We arrived in Rolleston after a five day cycling tour on the Alps2ocean trail, and we really appreciated being able to wash our cycling clothes, and hang them on the line to dry in their beautiful garden.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOWER093, Owner at Cedar Park Gardens B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thrilled to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to host you and be a part of your holiday. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Without any doubt the best accommodation we experienced during our month in New Zealand.
Ann and Ron are brilliant hosts and the attention to detail in our lovely room was 5 star on it's own!
We enjoyed a wonderful evening, enjoying great food and sharing stories, they made us feel at home like long lost friends.
The beautiful gardens were just the icing on the cake.
100% recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank verluisant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOWER093, Owner at Cedar Park Gardens B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely positive review.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and join us for a meal.
We hope to see you back at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews