We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorset House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We really enjoyed our brief stay at Dorset House. We found the staff on reception friendly and helpful. The building is a little worn around the edges, but it's an old building and has a certain charm about it. It was really nice having a bed (rather than a bunk), and there were plenty of bathrooms. Wifi was fast and worked well in the room. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Sarah S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you have found our staff to be friendly and helpful! The hostel is indeed quite old as it was built in 1871, but we always have ongoing maintenance and refurbishments to keep it up to date and comfortable for our guests We are glad to hear you found Dorset House to be charming and enjoyed the single bed in the dorm room. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the free unlimited WiFi and bathrooms, it’s much appreciated.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again perhaps in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Conditions of rooms and bathrooms was standard. We arrived at 5pm and were surprised to find no one at reception for us to check-in. Sign saying closed at 5pm, despite our reservation confirmation saying reception closed at 6pm. No key was left for us so we attempted to call the manager several times, but to no avail. After waiting 2.5 hours we tried to find alternate accommodation. Finally somebody showed up to let us in. Terrible after long-haul flight!

Room Tip: Best to get a room away from the shower hall where very moist
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Jessica P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We fully understand you were not impressed with our service and we do take all feedback on board. There is no excuse to why an envelope with key was not left out for you, this was down to human error and the staff member who made the error has been spoken to. We again would like to apologise for this. We always have someone on call and they can be contacted as per the instructions at reception (in case of emergency). I have spoken to the person who was on call and they were not contacted by email. If they had received an email they would have been able to help you out immediately. As coincidentally family of myself was staying in the hostel for my wedding the following day, they contacted me and I drove to the hostel to help you out. I apologised, managed to check you in and also gave you two breakfast packs with a value of $20.00 for free to make up for the mistake our staff made. I am fully aware we made the mistake and this was extremely stressful when you arrived after a long haul flight, but we did go out of our way to rectify the mistake (even though the correct person was not contacted by you) and your partner seemed to appreciate this. We do hope you enjoyed your stay after we checked you in at 6.33pm and wish you very happy travels in NZ.

Wishing you a happy New Year & all the best!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay! We highly recommend staying here. The house is clean and well maintained with a lovely garden. All rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. Great showers and toilets, nice to see a focus on caring for the water supply and well organised for recycling including food left by others available to those needing it. The location of Dorset House is very central with great eateries all around. Highly recommend Boo Radleys!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Julia A,

Thank you for leaving us a review. So nice to hear you found Boo Radleys across the road from us, it’s a lovely little place with live music and good food Thank you also for your feedback regarding our cleanliness, facilities and central location. We are indeed pretty lucky to be right next to Hagley Park, Victoria Street with all its restaurants and bars and only a 15 minute walk to the museum or square.

It’s wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This place feels more like a homely B&B than a hostel, it’s really nice here.
We had a double room on the ground floor which was very comfortable. A towel and soap were included in the price of a double (but I don’t think that’s the case for dorms, as we saw notices to rent a towel and a bathrobe if you desire).
The bed was very comfortable, and we had a TV in the room too.

There’s a spacious lounge area, with plenty of seating space, a pool table, TV and DVD player (DVDs available from reception), vending machines, board games and books. If you need a car, haircut, job, or activity, check the notice board in here too.

The kitchen isn’t huge, but it’s a very good size for the amount of people staying here with a lot of hobs available for use, and ample refrigerator space. There’s a good amount of seats available too. The kitchen opens onto a small rooftop terrace sort of area for outdoor seating also, so breakfast in the sun (if it’s warm enough) was a nice option.

The WiFi was unlimited, and very strong in the lounge and kitchen areas, but it would occasionally drop out on us in our room. Not a huge deal, as it was super quick in the communal areas. And we only really used it to download things on Netflix.

Great location, right next to the park, and a short walk from anywhere in the city centre.

Overall, we loved it here. Great atmosphere from the other guests, very warm and welcoming staff, and great value for money. Would definitely stay here again!
Have a happy new year :-)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Michael B,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed and wonderful review! We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work really hard on keeping the hostel clean and helping at reception whenever we can and it’s always lovely to hear from guests that they have enjoyed staying at Dorset House.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and may see you again in the future. Happy new year to you too and all the best!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

This hostel was fine (just fine) for what it costs. Perfectly serviceable, and it was nice there were so many bathrooms and showers. Wifi was good.

Overall this place is pretty worn around the edges. The common room smells weird, so no one really hung out there and it was hard to meet anyone who wasn’t in your room. Unfortunately I was in a 5 person dorm with 4 people who were traveling together, and a pretty insular group, so I didn’t really have a chance to make friends while here.

One big peeve is that the plug-in in my room was weird. It was on a timer, so you couldn’t just leave your phone to charge, you had to keep turning it on which was annoying and meant my phone was basically dead the two days I stayed here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank amflhu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi amflhu88,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you found the WiFi to work well for you and found the hostel to have plenty of bathrooms, we indeed never see any queues for the bathrooms. We are sorry to hear you were peeved about something that actually could’ve been solved by asking reception. We see you stayed in room number one, which indeed has a power point on the left side of the room which works on a 2 hour timer (as we are mindful of the environment). However, on the right hand side of the room we have a power point without timer, which also has a multibox plugged in to ensure 4 devices can be charged at the same time (all day and night if you wish). If you would’ve asked reception we could’ve shown you (I am gutted I cannot add pictures to this review!). Besides the room we also have plenty of normal power points throughout the hostel such as the lounge and kitchen. We’re also sorry to hear that your room mates weren’t very chatty and inclusive. Unfortunately, this is something we cannot control, but generally there are plenty of people around in the kitchen or lounge. I have just checked the lounge and it is smelling lovely and fresh. Perhaps you walked in after someone had sat in the lounge who did not have great personal hygiene? We are sorry we did not pick up on this on the day, as we could’ve opened windows and the door and sprayed in the lounge to ensure this would’ve been solved. Please do feel free to come to reception with any issues, as these could’ve been solved during your stay.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand and hope your future room mates are nice and chatty

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.5 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#4 of 111 in Christchurch
506 reviews
1.7 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
137 reviews
1.1 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 111 in Christchurch
205 reviews
1.4 km away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
188 reviews
2.5 km away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#21 of 111 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House Backpackers

Address: 1 Dorset Street | PO Box 25350, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: €19 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorset House Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located central city, boutique hostel in historic 1871 home, in a lovely quiet garden setting and next to beautiful Hagley Park. You will find everything needed including a guest lounge with pool table, internet, WiFi, DVD's, cable, kitchen, balcony, guest laundry and free off-street parking. A selection of single, double and twin rooms are available, with fully made beds. Enjoy a stroll to Cathedral Square, or indulge in cafes & shopping on Victoria St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorset House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing