We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
131
104
30
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
104
30
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park common room free wifi reception hours excellent kitchen large lounge city centre canterbury museum communal kitchen old house beautiful park communal areas homely feel electric blankets quiet location botanical gardens twin room
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay! We highly recommend staying here. The house is clean and well maintained with a lovely garden. All rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. Great showers and toilets, nice to see a focus on caring for the water supply and well organised for recycling including food left by others available to those needing it. The location of Dorset House is very central with great eateries all around. Highly recommend Boo Radleys!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JuliaA3857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Julia A,

Thank you for leaving us a review. So nice to hear you found Boo Radleys across the road from us, it’s a lovely little place with live music and good food Thank you also for your feedback regarding our cleanliness, facilities and central location. We are indeed pretty lucky to be right next to Hagley Park, Victoria Street with all its restaurants and bars and only a 15 minute walk to the museum or square.

It’s wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around NZ!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This place feels more like a homely B&B than a hostel, it’s really nice here.
We had a double room on the ground floor which was very comfortable. A towel and soap were included in the price of a double (but I don’t think that’s the case for dorms, as we saw notices to rent a towel and a bathrobe if you desire).
The bed was very comfortable, and we had a TV in the room too.

There’s a spacious lounge area, with plenty of seating space, a pool table, TV and DVD player (DVDs available from reception), vending machines, board games and books. If you need a car, haircut, job, or activity, check the notice board in here too.

The kitchen isn’t huge, but it’s a very good size for the amount of people staying here with a lot of hobs available for use, and ample refrigerator space. There’s a good amount of seats available too. The kitchen opens onto a small rooftop terrace sort of area for outdoor seating also, so breakfast in the sun (if it’s warm enough) was a nice option.

The WiFi was unlimited, and very strong in the lounge and kitchen areas, but it would occasionally drop out on us in our room. Not a huge deal, as it was super quick in the communal areas. And we only really used it to download things on Netflix.

Great location, right next to the park, and a short walk from anywhere in the city centre.

Overall, we loved it here. Great atmosphere from the other guests, very warm and welcoming staff, and great value for money. Would definitely stay here again!
Have a happy new year :-)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Michael B,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed and wonderful review! We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work really hard on keeping the hostel clean and helping at reception whenever we can and it’s always lovely to hear from guests that they have enjoyed staying at Dorset House.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and may see you again in the future. Happy new year to you too and all the best!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

This hostel was fine (just fine) for what it costs. Perfectly serviceable, and it was nice there were so many bathrooms and showers. Wifi was good.

Overall this place is pretty worn around the edges. The common room smells weird, so no one really hung out there and it was hard to meet anyone who wasn’t in your room. Unfortunately I was in a 5 person dorm with 4 people who were traveling together, and a pretty insular group, so I didn’t really have a chance to make friends while here.

One big peeve is that the plug-in in my room was weird. It was on a timer, so you couldn’t just leave your phone to charge, you had to keep turning it on which was annoying and meant my phone was basically dead the two days I stayed here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank amflhu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi amflhu88,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you found the WiFi to work well for you and found the hostel to have plenty of bathrooms, we indeed never see any queues for the bathrooms. We are sorry to hear you were peeved about something that actually could’ve been solved by asking reception. We see you stayed in room number one, which indeed has a power point on the left side of the room which works on a 2 hour timer (as we are mindful of the environment). However, on the right hand side of the room we have a power point without timer, which also has a multibox plugged in to ensure 4 devices can be charged at the same time (all day and night if you wish). If you would’ve asked reception we could’ve shown you (I am gutted I cannot add pictures to this review!). Besides the room we also have plenty of normal power points throughout the hostel such as the lounge and kitchen. We’re also sorry to hear that your room mates weren’t very chatty and inclusive. Unfortunately, this is something we cannot control, but generally there are plenty of people around in the kitchen or lounge. I have just checked the lounge and it is smelling lovely and fresh. Perhaps you walked in after someone had sat in the lounge who did not have great personal hygiene? We are sorry we did not pick up on this on the day, as we could’ve opened windows and the door and sprayed in the lounge to ensure this would’ve been solved. Please do feel free to come to reception with any issues, as these could’ve been solved during your stay.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand and hope your future room mates are nice and chatty

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Overall a wonderful place to stay. Very charming, shabby-chic house with a lot of character. Nice shared/lounge spaces; bathrooms were always clean; friendly and helpful reception; plenty of individual showers, never had to wait; nice and quiet location near the botanical gardens and Canterbury Museum. The guests were all mature and relatively chill, this is not a party hostel from what I could tell and I appreciated that! Cons are few: my rooms (I stayed in both single and dorm) both get very hot and stuffy and there were no fans as far as I knew. Bathrooms also need fans. And the beds were way too soft - could feel the mattress springs. Otherwise I recommend this backpackers!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJLALALAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi EJLALALAND,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and found the hostel to be clean and reception to be friendly. We are most definitely not a party hostel and we’re glad to hear that was appreciated by you we’re sorry however to hear you were hot in your room. The last two weeks we’ve had quite a few 33 degree days, which is extremely uncommon in Christchurch. We usually don’t need fans, as there is just the occasional hot day in summer where we keep curtains closed to block out the sun and get a nice draft going with open windows. We have a range of mattresses from reasonably soft to quite firm, as everyone likes a different type of mattress. However, if you could send us a quick email with the rooms you stayed in we will double check the mattress to ensure it is up with the standard of the rest of the hostel.

Thank you again and we hope to hear from you. Have a great trip around New Zealand!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Too bad I was in Dorset House only for one night.

Maybe a map of surrounding area would be nice. It would be easier to find a store etc.

Kitchen is great and it seems to work as a lounge even though there's a huge lounge downstairs too.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank HeikkiR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hi Heikki R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We’re really glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! We are indeed pretty lucky with our huge lounge with beautifully stained windows.

We have a large map at our reception counter which is called ‘Where to find…?’ and we have marked a lot if important points in the area such as a supermarket, petrol station, liquor store etc. We also have a restaurant guide with maps of where we are compared to each restaurant, an activities guide and a ‘useful info folder’

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again perhaps in the future!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews