We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
130
103
30
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
103
30
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park single room common room free wifi reception hours excellent kitchen large lounge city centre canterbury museum communal kitchen old house beautiful park homely feel communal areas electric blankets quiet location botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I spent 2 nights here after arriving in Christchurch (single room). The hostel is located in a quiet side street with the city centre and the park being within walking distance. It has a large common room and a fully equipped kitchen. The single room was small, but for a short stay perfectly ok (even though insulation to neighbouring rooms seemed quite poor and closing of doors could be quite noisy). Everything was clean and tidy. Staff was very helpful and friendly and can assist with bookings of buses and tours.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sondra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hello Sondra K,

Thank you for writing us a review and choosing your stay with us in Christchurch.

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities- we also love the fact that it’s a quiet and quaint little street next to the park but not too far to walk to the city centre.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hostel and helpfulness of our staff. We strive to create a comfortable and clean environment for all our guests and are so happy this was reflected during your stay.

I’m so sorry to hear that you found your stay to be noisy at times. We may just need to adjust the latch on the door outside room 17 as this over time opening and closing will loosen and make the door shut quicker than we’d like! Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention - we will get onto fixing this straight away if this was the issue. Please feel free to come to reception with feedback like this during your stay, as we would have been able to fix this after your first night with us. As Dorset House was built in 1871 with don’t have quite the same insulation as new builds might have. The hostel has been refurbished and had many improvements made to it over the last few years, such as solar panels on the roof. Unfortunately, it is a little harder to get into the walls. As we are not a party backpackers, we do expect all guests to be quiet and courteous of those in neighbouring rooms especially late in the evening when people are trying to sleep and usually everyone respects that.

In terms of the room size, the Single Rooms are the smallest of our private rooms as also indicated on our website (to ensure it meets the expectation). If you prefer a larger room we’d recommend booking one of the Standard Doubles for just a little bit extra, as they have more floor space (or alternatively you are more than welcome to store luggage at reception).

Thank you again for your feedback, wishing you all the best with your future travels :-)

Kind Regards
Lori
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Bedrooms, bathrooms and communal rooms clean and well-presented. Staff helpful and friendly. Worth the extra couple of dollars over your usual backpackers. Convenient for park and gardens and bus pick ups from Canterbury museum.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank LizziePZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Hi LizziePZ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our hostel to be clean and well-presented! Our team work really hard each day to ensure the hostel is spic and span, while remaining friendly and helpful. We will pass on your kind words to them! We are indeed so lucky with our location – right next to Hagley Park, 2 minutes to the airport bus and about a 10-15 minute walk to the Canterbury Museum and Botanic Gardens.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Dorset House while in Christchurch and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Perfect stay, thank you for everything.
Very nice staff, beautiful house, clean rooms and bathrooms. Located near the park and a walk of 15 minutes from cathedral square.
Strongly recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank tocram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Front Office Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hi Tocram77,

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your stay!

We are ecstatic to see you have left us with a perfect 5-star rating and a strong recommendation for future travelers. Our staff do make every effort to be kind and helpful whilst working hard to provide guests with clean facilities; we are pleased to see that this has been reflected during your stay :-)

Wishing you all the best with the rest of your adventures!

Warm Regards,
Lori
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, staff are good and clean everything every day free WiFi and close to a nice park . It's close to the city centre as well. Easy access to Westfield ( commercial centre) by bus.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank remi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Hi remi c,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear our enjoyed the cleanliness of the hostel and friendliness of our staff. We indeed spend at least 8 hours cleaning the hostel every day (done by two staff members) to ensure the hostel is clean and tidy. We are lucky to be in the city centre, not far from most facilities and with the airport bus around the corner it’s great. We’re also glad to hear you enjoyed the free unlimited WiFi :) so important to be able to connect while you’re travelling! It would be great to know where we lost 20% of the star rating, even if you wouldn’t mind sending us an email (stay@dorset.co.nz). Feedback is a great opportunity for us to improve our services & facilities.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again perhaps in the future.

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a single room, the bed squeaks every time I moved, and the shower near by took forever to heat up, and the flow was bad, should mention the main ones are excellent. kitchen pots are in bad shape, people are very helpful. And is near the park, great for jogging, settings are very pretty and quiet.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank koolpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsetHouseChch, Manager at Dorset House Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay- it’s great to hear that you enjoyed our settings and jogging next door at Hagley Park.

It was unfortunate that we did not manage to fix the squeak immediately after checking you in; despite tightening everything possible on the bed there was indeed still a bit of a squeak. We offered to book you into another room for your second night of stay to make up for this which would have been a free upgrade. It’s a shame to hear that you did not decide to take advantage of this the next day.

That shower does indeed take a bit longer to heat up when it has been in frequent use; this is why we have placed the sign on the shower door and outside bathroom door advising guests that this can be the case in peak hours. Hot water cylinders can take a while to heat the water when all water has been used (after peak hours). The sign also has a floorplan outlining where the gas showers are and recommends using these instead if the said shower isn’t heating up- as these are always nice and hot!

Thank you for letting us know about the kitchen pots. We have thrown three pots out this morning, but see there is no need to replace them as we have plenty of other pots available.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us; we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday :-)

Warm regards
Hilde
Dorset House Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews