We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent takeaway”
Review of The Codfather

The Codfather
Ranked #59 of 133 Restaurants in Blenheim
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Arrived in Blenheim after a long drive and just felt like a takeaway rather than visit a restaurant. The Codfather was close so we decided on Fish and Chips. Our order of Blue Cod and battered Oysters with a scoop of chips was nicely cooked, tasted good and was very good value. A great idea of piercing the paper to let the steam escape and prevent the food from becoming soggy.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WhereU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

We had terakihi fish which was lightly battered accommpanied by tasty chips. The serivce was very quick and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We were looking for a quick meal and fancied some fish - the only place could find open was the Codfather - we ordered some cod - no chips. Fish was very good but spoils by a very stodgy batter which was swimming in cooking fat .

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Brynkoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Close to where we were staying (171 ON High), the service was good and the food was extra good. Good value, great feed. Just what's called for at the end of a long day's wine tasting (in our case.)

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank BillJKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Had The Don Burger with Terakihi and chips. Chips were ok. Terakihi was dry and batter was doughy and uncooked. The Don had a homemade Meat Patty and it was burnt and tough. Burger was soggy and seemed unfresh. Basicly a yucky feed and very disappointing considering the level of positive reviews. I threw most in rubbish. Have they got complacent? I do not recommend at all.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank PalmyraButs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Codfather also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to The Codfather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing