We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blenheim fine dining”

Mondrians Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #32 of 133 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mondrians Restaurant and Bar is located at Scenic Hotel Marlborough in Blenheim. Named after the Dutch painter Piet Mondrian (1872-1944), whose artistic influences are found in the design of the restaurant, the menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients aimed to showcase produce grown in Marlborough. Catering to both guests and local residents, Mondrians is fully licensed and has a comprehensive range of local wines as well as wines from the major growing regions across New Zealand.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We were staying at the Marlborough scenic and this is their restaurant. It was a little more expensive than we normally choose but the meal was superb and service first rate. The food was perfectly cooked.

Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Mondrians Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to dine at Mondrians while staying with us at Scenic Hotel Marlborough - and thanks also for your feedback.
Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager of Scenic Hotel Marlborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

great service, excellent food. wish the pork belly was main size and the gravy on the lamb in a glass with a straw. Absolutely devine

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Mondrians Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Sandra
Thanks for coming to Mondrians for your special occasion. We are so pleased you enjoyed the meal - and can always provide a straw if you need :-)
Hope to see you another time.
Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager of Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We are staying at the Scenic hotel so thought we would try the restaurant here. It is beautifully refurbished, with a fantastic menu- so much variety and a great local wine list. We decided to go for a bit of a Tapas style and just ordered 1 of everything from the entree list and we couldn't fault a thing!!
Delicious food, beautiful surrounds and very friendly staff. We would highly recommend this place. Just a shame that more people haven't figured this out as it was very quiet for a Saturday night.

1  Thank Angimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Mondrians Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello. We are so pleased you chose Mondrians for dinner and that it suited you so well. Choosing all the entrees to share is a great idea! Everyone gets a little bit of everything. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - we appreciate it. Hopefully we will see you another time.
Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager of Scenic Hotel Marlborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This restaurant showcases local produce and does it really well. There is always a good vegetarian option and the meals are satisfying yet never heavy.

1  Thank Vanessa1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Mondrians Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Vanessa
Thanks for reviewing your recent dining experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our chef is dedicated to use local and seasonal produce, we are glad you enjoyed it. And the vegetarian options are definitely very tasty - and a favourite with many guests.
Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager of Scenic Hotel Marlborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We live locally and thought we'd try this restaurant. I had the lamb and hubby had the fillet steak. Divine! Really nice food, great service, and a fair price for a good quality restaurant. The servings were a generous size, we each had two courses which was plenty. There was no one else there which was such a shame. It deserved to be full.

Thank Kerie5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Mondrians Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi Kerie
Thanks for giving us a shot: we love locals coming to visit! We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and our service and we would love to see you another time. Since you dined with us in May we have introduced our new dinner menu, which is super tasty. I must however apologise for the tardiness of my reply - we do appreciate you taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor.
Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager of Scenic Hotel Marlborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mondrians Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Mondrians Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing